to blurried, don't sound right what to do?

Wafi

hey guys this is my first post in this forum. I really like the people and I would like to learn something. I'm still fairly new to the dnb genre and I'm still learning.

I wanted to share something with you guys because it didn't sound right
http://www.2shared.com/audio/Yla6rTM...d_potions.html

as you can hear the track might have a little bit of potential in it but the mixing literally sucks ass...I tried everything but I can't get the right sound or I can't really understand what's wrong with it.

first off how loud should a track like this should be? also if you hear nobody to love by sigma and the likes you will hear that they are all maxed out and yet they sound smooth as hell...how do they do that?

I come from a hip hop and rap background... to me learning dnb is reallhy a dream and it will take time... I hope I can do it too hehhe

First off, it's much easier if you use soundcloud or something when you want to share tracks, or want people to give a little advice. That way we don't have to download it.

The questions you ask are ones that are asked quite often.. There is a very recent tread about loudness even. Take a look around.

Anyways, that track is not bad! I've definitely heard worse.
When you feel it's a bit blurred, try the really 'clean' up every single element in the song. Cut frequencies you don't want from the instument/vst/whatever. Cut everything but the frequencies you want.
For examples: hats, cut them 1k hertz. snares, cut the after the point they hit (200hz or something, just giving the rough idea, don't follow these numbers)
That might help alot.
Also what helps, are minor tweaks, some reverbs on crashes, synths, snares, delays here and there...

Mixdown wise, that's a proces that you only get better at with more experience of producing. Listen to other tracks, to how loud the bass is, the highs, stuff like that...