Tips 'n' Tricks for the most used DAWs inside

Discussion in 'Production' started by kama, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Here's links to threads concerning the most used daws in the market today - tutorials, tips, tricks, how-to's, questions, answers, you name it. The stickies were getting a bit out of hand so I thought we could gather them all under a single thread for easy access instead of losing them to bit space. It's also easier to see if there is a new question when the threads are bumped to the top!

    ABLETON thread - tips and tricks, q and a: http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?100978-Ableton-thread-%28tips-and-tricks-q-and-a%29

    FLSTUDIO thread (share tips, tricks, secrets etc.): http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?31747-The-FL-Studio-thread-%28share-tips-tricks-secrets-etc.%29

    CUBASE starter thread (Basics, Tips, Tricks): http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?56137-Cubase-Starter-Thread-%28Basics-Tips-Tricks%29

    LOGIC Share your logic tips here: http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?81620-Share-your-Logic-tips-here.

    REASON Production Thread Q&A Tutorials Collaborations: http://dnbforum.com/showthread.php?74960-The-Reason-Production-Thread-Q-amp-A-Tutorials-Collaborations

    Get on it! :jazz_band:
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
    Shatner's Bosom likes this.
  2. vinylrider

    vinylrider New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    where be the protools thread??
     
  3. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    dont have one crapitain
     
  4. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    Everyone seems to be jumping on Protools lately.

    The only thing that puts me off is the GUI
     
  5. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Is there a thread for it?
     
  6. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    pro tools is amazing. mulder is always bigging it up. just click the link in the original post up top
     
  7. duttymonster

    duttymonster deep in the jungle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cooden Beats
    i think somewhere for Reason based conversation should be made.

    DM
     
  8. SrsHarry

    SrsHarry Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland - New Zealand
    I find that midi is hard to program in Protools, I always use Cubase or Protools for mix down/final audio editing though, gives me loads of options to create new FX
     
  9. jeungblut

    jeungblut New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    These links no longer work :(
     
  10. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    yes they do...or are you a spam bot posting randomness?
     
  11. jeungblut

    jeungblut New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not spam. I downloaded the Reason file from megaupload but then the links in the adobe file don't work..
     
  12. Protoplasym

    Protoplasym Nuskool

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the thread, Kama : )
     
  13. BassMarine

    BassMarine New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hull - UK
    Hello all im getting along with Live just smashing but this one has me stumped . Ive a got sample loaded up of heartbeat type effect. It was a lttle out of time so i warped it ensuring a beat at the start of each bar. Thought everything was fine at first, but ive noticed the first beat of bar 21 is slightly off the grid, sitting just in front of it in the arrangement, whilst in the sample editor the waveform is displayed as beginning marginally before the 21st bar.

    It would appear that my Live is trying to tell me that the same wave form is in two places at the same time! can anyone explain this please?

    Edit - Not sure how this ended up here. I was reading the ableton thread honest! Soz.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  14. Emphonic

    Emphonic New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Belgium
  15. kolunghuo18

    kolunghuo18 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing that puts me off is the GUI[​IMG]:smash:
     
  16. One Call System

    One Call System New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody use Reaper for their DAW? It's basically free and top notch, the reaper users claim it's as good as any of those other ones. I'm still learning so I couldn't tell you, but it seems solid.
     
  17. Sulihin

    Sulihin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Lutz, Florida, United States
    I used Reaper for a while before switching to Ableton. It has a lot of good things going for it IMO. The main thing I missed was slicing audio to midi and a multisampler. I could have probably gotten that as a plugin instead of going the Ableton route, but I also like the Ableton workflow. Kinda miss Reaper's mixing and routing though and may still use it for mixdowns and such.
     
  18. fevezz

    fevezz nom nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    portlandia
    I sample with poise. Try look it up. Its more like mpc style sampling, but it suits me cuz I do hip hop once in a while. Check this dudes vids from kvr.
    http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=377097

    U can drag n drop samples u cut up in reaper straight to the pads.
     
  19. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Shall we make a pro tools thread?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I'm getting certified for it soon actually so I could make tutorials
     
  20. Know One

    Know One Living A Lie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    That Big Country Everyone Hates
    Reaper is pretty sweet. I used to mess around with it when I was using reason so I could work with real audio clips for once. I have since moved onto ableton, but have been wanting to play with Reaper some more one of these days. The sound quality, routing, and functions are great. It's also amazing how small of a file size the entire program is. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles when it comes to devices and plug-ins, but it does have some basic ones. I wish it came with a better sampler, but throwing in kontakt fixes that issue.