The Origins of Jungle/Drum and bass ?

Dreamworld

I remember a long time ago, a car with blacked out windows would drive past bass box booming and thats all I heard of Jungle. As far as I was aware it was listened to by mainly Black guys and Gangsters/Scallies.
Then the NME got hold of it and called it drum and bass and it got huge.
So what where the origins of Drum and bass ? Did it as so many say come out of Harcore ?
Where the original breakbeats double speeded up hip hop and funk rhytms.
I dont want to start a storm over this but they say Elvis and Rock and roll was white music which stole from black music - the Blues. Has the same happened with jungle or was it always multiracial music ? Im no expert but my memory says otherwise.
Yours respectfully,
DW

Last edited:
I don't think it had anything to do with NME making it big ??
Never heard that one before :)

As far as i know, its always been multiracial music as it originated from hardcore/rave music. it had/s lots of reggae influences.

androoo said:

As far as i know, its always been multiracial music as it originated from hardcore/rave music. it had/s lots of reggae influences.

bang on!!!!!!

if your interested in the history of rave music, there are a few good books out. they talk about how the scene fragments too... one i've read and can reccomend -

Class of '88

androoo said:

came from a mix of the acid house bought over from detroit and ragga/reggea. so the mix of black n white has always been there

H20 said:
came from a mix of the acid house bought over from detroit and ragga/reggea. so the mix of black n white has always been there

missed that bit yeah, before the hardcore there was acid house :) :gpeace:

Cheers for the replies - v. informative