The Most Valuable Music Theory Terms

Discussion in 'Production' started by DNB4DCrowd, Feb 21, 2014.

1. DNB4DCrowd

DNB4DCrowd Active Member

Im just beginning to study music, as well as EDM production (DNB), and I really want to make sure I have a good understanding of Music Theory before jumping into the production. Im starting by extensively studying MIDI while trying to sort through what I believe to be the most important Music Theory terms. Learning the terms (language of), I figure is step one, so I have a complete glossary for Music Theory, MIDI, as well as EDM production. As I look at these Music Theory terms I realize there are many terms that could potentially be a waste of time learning about. My question is - maybe a dumb one - what are the ten most iimportant Music Theory terms I should have complete knowledge about? If you, a proffessional DNB producer, could pick the ten most important terms of Music Theory, what would they be? Question number two is: on a scale of one to ten, with ten being the most important, how important is it to have an understanding of Music Theory before producing DNB music? Lets say that one is begginer and ten is Master.

Thanks for your help and opinions on this.

- - - Updated - - -

I do notice the similar threads now that I've posted this thread. I thought I previously searched for them, but maybe not. Ill research them, they look like great threads!

2. Serum

Serum Well-Known Member

You don't really need to know a lot. I learned it all as I went along.

Basic stuff like what beats and bars are and what the notes are will help but D&B is heavy on engineering so the best things to learn are things like how synthesis and sampling work and what the different effects do.

Also, paying attention to the music you listen to helps a lot so you can understand how to structure a track and keep it interesting.

MIDI isn't all that necessary if you're using software only which you probably will be in the beginning.