TECHNICS 1210's BROKEN - Turntable Wont Spin

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by spamberler, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. spamberler

    spamberler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Does anyone know what might be wrong with Technics 1210's that wont spin just rock forwards and backwards?

    The electric was cut off whilst using them and the deck now wont spin :|

    Any help would be greatful.

    Thanks
     
  2. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Hmm, looks to me like the magnet might be fooked.

    Any difference when switching between 33 and 45? Or moving pitch?
     
  3. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Definately not the magnet. I've heard of this one, lemme have a think...

    ---------- Post added at 15:44 ---------- Previous post was at 15:31 ----------

    Thinking about it it was probably a surge when the power went off or on. It's worth powering your gear through a surge protector ;). Try replacing transistors Q2 and Q3. If that doesn't work then replace IC101 (or was it 301?). The same thing happens if you get a short on the target light circuit, which is a common fault when people do a poor job of modding their decks.
     
  4. osmosis

    osmosis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    a bit off topic but is it bad that I turn off all my kit by one switch on the wall, not each one individually?
     
  5. spamberler

    spamberler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks DTR Ill try that :)
     
  6. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    It's not good for amps (well, the speakers attached to them actually). Turn the amp on last and off first by its own switch. Or if you're using powered monitors use their own switches. As for everything else it can be switched off at the mains plug.

    Good luck, hope you get it sorted :)