Technical help required....

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by diamond_geezer, Aug 11, 2003.

  1. diamond_geezer

    diamond_geezer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    wotcha peeps! How ya doing?

    Right, i need some expert advice from you lot....

    How do i connect my laptop up so i can record a mix onto CD?

    What do i need cable wise & software wise to do this?

    help! im a :knob: when it comes to this shizzle!

    :beers: cheers
     
  2. Serum

    Serum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    London
    Most soundcard inputs on normal PCs are like a little headphone socket (like on a walkman) so you need a dual phono to mini headphone jack cable, then you just need a wave editor to record it with once you got that plugged in.

    Then you save the recording as a wave, or chop it into individual tracks before burning to a CD
     
  3. diamond_geezer

    diamond_geezer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Cheers dude, nice one!

    Soon as i got it sorted i'll get a mix nline.

    Proper Boh!
     
  4. Serum

    Serum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    London
    I tells thee!
     
  5. Affliction

    Affliction thought size didnt matter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    most soundcard inputs on PC's are also shit quality - so if you dont want your mix sounding like the pull string on some cheap plastic toy - you'll wanna get yourself some professional quality inputs.

    I reccomend one thing to everyone who asks this question - the Edirol UA-1A.. it will plug straight into your USB port and provide you with good quality inputs, and it also uses standard RCA jacks so you wont have to worry about finding a Y cable.

    As for recording software... there are various free options you can download, probably the best of which is Goldwave.
     
  6. Calefaction

    Calefaction Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I have an M-audio Revolution 7.1, so the recording quality on my card is excellent (uses the same chip as the M-Audio Audiophile 24/96).

    What I did, from my DJM-600, is ran a single RCA cable (the DJM-600 has Rec. Out ports which are RCA), to a Y splitter (the splitter should be female RCA -> male headphone), and plugged in to the INPUT port on my soundcard, NOT the Mic port (you will get crappy quality if you use the mic port).

    Hope this helps.

    Oh, one more tip. If your mixes are coming out REALLY distorted, try two things:

    Lower the Master Attuniation on the back of your mixer (its labeled as Master Att. on my 600, not sure about other mixers)

    If that doesn't help, lower the Line In volume in Windows to a more acceptable volume. That should fix the distorted sound.

    Software wise, I use CoolEdit Pro myself, it allows you to place CD track markers, edit the wav, all kinds of things.
     
  7. missrepresent

    missrepresent Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Gloucester
    easy there

    Im terrible at all the technical stuff so...

    1) get ya mini disc cable plug into yr laptop from dex
    2) get soundforge and hit record

    Thats all i did... i even have soundforge if u want matey...

    its so simple to use... just hit record.
     
  8. Serum

    Serum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    London
    Yeah as he said mic inputs have a preamp which boosts it (which is why mics sound quiet in line plugs) so avoid that. Might cause damage to your system
     
  9. CoB

    CoB Pure Sanelessness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    A, A
    cant u chuick it into the line-in?
    i got mine going into my stereo, which has a headphone jack, which i plug into the line-in of my computer..
    the only problem I have is that my computer is shite, and whenever i try and save my mixes my computer crashes