Sub Bass Question

Centrepoint

Hi, Happy New Year people.

I'm a new producer and need some help with sub bass if anyone could help.

Do you use sub bass as the main bass line or do you layer it under a certain section? For example would you layer it under another, higher frequency bass line or layer it under your pads lets say?

What frequency should it be around and how important is it to a track?

Any basic information, or if you can point me somewhere in the right direction, would be nice, cheers.

P.S.
I recently posted my first tracks on here, without putting any sub bass on them, i just used a single bass line(??sorry not sure how to describe it), any ideas or info you think would improve them would be absolutely smashing?

Hello again, I'm starting to feel like a spambot lol.

The sub just fills the bottom end out and gives you the weight to rattle teeth. Sub can be the main bassline like in Skeptical - Cold One

but more often it'll just be the lowest part of a bass that covers a larger frequency range.

Sometimes it'll be layered under a higher pitched bassline, you get this a lot in jump up tunes, cus there's little or no low end in the screechy screechy sounds like here

so he's layered a sub underneath. I would say it depends what bass your working with and how much low end it has, sometimes it's already there sometimes you need to add it, and you just need a decent set of cans or speakers to hear if its got the rumble you need!

Btw, can anyone tell me how loud your sub is supposed to be in tunes or does it just need to be as close to 0 as possible after limiting your track?

Btw, can anyone tell me how loud your sub is supposed to be in tunes or does it just need to be as close to 0 as possible after limiting your track?