Starting small

Dogma

Hey everyone, it's a pleasure to be here as a newcomer. Now, I'm absolutely new to this, but I did do my background research - I know this takes months of practice (even years) to perfect, and who knows, right now it's just a hobby, I'm only planning to play with some sounds around to see if I can get my knowledge on this subject up a little.
After searching the web a bit I found out that FL Studio would be a good place to begin (like I said, I just want to fool around for now, see what happens), so I got it, and now I'm ready to, well, mess around a bit I guess!
I also came across this forum while searching for tips and it seemed like a good community that could give me some useful advice now and then in case I decide to put my head deep into it.
Obviously I'm not going to bother you guys with anything in detail right now, I just wanted an overview prespective: is it VERY hard to master? Am I doing the correct thing so far? Any advice for the absolute newbie?

shhhhh. youre using words you dont understand and already complicating yourself.

Check out my super short tut on FL studio 10 and then start experimenting:

cheers and good luck, youll need it :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Congrats man; I've been at it two months shy a year now, and it's JUST starting to "click" with me. It's a feeling, can't put it into words; it's basically when your technical skills no longer suck bad enough to hamper your creative ideas, tho you still need to push yourself here and there to realize a few crazier thoughts. I just spent the past 3 hours working on a sub-bass, so yeah time will be a serious requirement.