Starter producing need some hints.

Discussion in 'New Talent & Track Reviews' started by BullDub, May 12, 2014.

1. BullDub

BullDub Member

I had a rough way to get this far and even now i feel like its still really bad.

This is what i got today well its not much but it took me 3 months to get here. (i'm using fl studio 10 and massive for the basses).

https://soundcloud.com/bull-dub/overdriveupdate

Please don't flame i know its bad..

Greethings BullDub.

2. smoothassilk

smoothassilk Active Member

Ok, I'm no expert either, but...
    Your snare is a bit quiet, and so is your kick. Turn them up a bit. If you're having problems with them clipping, then you might want to look up sidechain compression to prevent them interfering with the bass.
    Compression is one of the things that's hardest to learn about production, you can barely hear it at first when you start learning but it's really important.
    The bass doesn't sound that good to me, the fills are ok though. Maybe if you post a rough outline of how you made it I could try and give you some advice?

The overall structure, rhythms, variation I like though... you'd have to put in more variation if you made it any longer, but for this length it's fine

Last edited: May 12, 2014
    BullDub likes this.
  3. BullDub

BullDub Member

Kept it fairly simple as i am a starter.
    [​IMG]
    As you can see it all points it out..
    Massive reese bass i use:
    [​IMG]

4. smoothassilk

smoothassilk Active Member

I don't own massive, so I might be wrong on some things, but..
    If you are going for a reece bass (you don't have to!), it's more typical to use at least one sawtooth wave, rather than just two wavetables. (Osc3 doesn't seem to be turned on, so I presume it's not important)
    As well as this, I find some a lot of wavetables lacking in low end power, so that's another reason to use some saw waves as well as wavetables: they fill the whole spectrum better.