Spreading sample across keyboard

Discussion in 'Production' started by Arfeds, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. Arfeds

    Arfeds Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi chaps

    im trying to figure out how i can spread a sample in varying pitch across an entire keyboard in exactly the same way as the tutorial below

    however i do not have battery 4 and dont really want to stump up the dough for it

    surely there must be a free and easy was of doing this?

    thanks in advance for your input

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  2. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    just use any sampler

    most daws have them built in, or theres a few free ones out there, have a look on google
     
  3. Arfeds

    Arfeds Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0

    cool. can you give me some examples?
    thanks
     
  4. Mania

    Mania i fukin wot m8

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, AUS
    Depends on your DAW. FL has harmless, Logic has esx24, Ableton has simpler, etc
     
  5. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    Try this. . . . .youtube, "how to use a sampler" with most DAWs its just drag and drop a sample. then play till your hearts content.
     
  6. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    what daw are you using?
     
  7. Arfeds

    Arfeds Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry i should have stated im using cubase
     
  8. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    When I used cubase I used halion or kontact
     
  9. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    yeah halion is cubases sampler, should be built in

    or if not i hear disco dsp highlife is supposed to be a good free sampler
     
  10. dbjungle

    dbjungle DJ Syklone

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    There's one called Morgana that has the feature. I think it's mostly affordable.

    Sent from my LG-E970 using Tapatalk
     
  11. dbjungle

    dbjungle DJ Syklone

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    I stand corrected. It's $170.

    Sent from my LG-E970 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Mason John

    Mason John 21st Junta

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Norfolk, Virginia, United States
    If you're talking free samplers, the best I've come across is ShortCircuit. It's from the same people who worked on some parts of Albeton so it is quite solid. I'm just not sure if auto-pitches a single sample across the key range at the press of a button or two lol.

    Most samplers tend to timestretch the sample along with the pitch i.e slower tempo if pitched down from the source pitch, faster tempo if pitched up. It's kind of annoying actually and if you're going for a free sampler you'll probably have to deal with that, unless you use another program to create 126 other pitched samples with the same tempo.

    Not an ideal solution at all.
     
    dbjungle likes this.