Spec laptop to run Serato or Traktor effortlessly???

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by mistasfx, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    As the title said.... What sort of laptop would i need to run this without any stuttering or crashes?

    Thanks
     
  2. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    i guess ur never guaranteed with the no crashing, but id go with atleast recomended specs which you will find on the site, dnt just aim for minimum specs!
     
  3. kenyon

    kenyon @ The Crack Spot

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    West London
    new mac book pro 8 gb ram
     
  4. Triple M

    Triple M Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1970
    Messages:
    3,732
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Pretty much all Macbook's will do just fine. Mine has never crashed on me.
     
    mistasfx likes this.
  5. alexanthony

    alexanthony Impact (Engage Audio)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    London
    i have an advent, runs perfectly cost me about £450
     
  6. kenyon

    kenyon @ The Crack Spot

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    West London
    traktor defo takes more to run than serato as i have just recently found out
     
  7. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Its the same old story really, if you dont want to do any tinkering, just plug & play then fork out the extra for a mac.
    If you dont mind getting your fingers dirty then go for a similarly speced windows machine.

    If you want the bare minimum and save yourself a packet then get a second hand dedicated windows laptop. You can get by on the pentium4 dual cores and a couple of gigs of RAM.
     
    mistasfx likes this.
  8. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    I got an Acer Aspire S3 purely to run serato, does the job nicely and is twice the spec and half the price of the equivelent macbook.

    Nice and slim and light, sexy as hell, and very nicely specc'ed for a £500 laptop.

    [​IMG]


    I was considering a macbook but tbh i was only going to use it for serato, and i couldnt justify spending that much for a shitty operating system on overpriced hardware.

    But enough of that, im sick of people comparing mac's and pc's.
    Compare apples to apples and oranges to oranges.



    In all honesty though, pretty much anything made in the last 3 or 4 years will run serato fine.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
    mistasfx likes this.
  9. WhoSayReload?

    WhoSayReload? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Northampton
    Surely though if you stop all your other processes, turn your anti virus, wifi off etc. It'll run fine with like 4gb ram, maybe even less than that like 2 or 3
     
  10. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    thanks everyone
     
  11. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    lol at people saying macbook.... might aswell buy a pair of cdjs for the cost of a macbook and serato
     
  12. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    yeah the price of mac books put me right off, thats why i asked this question in the first place
     
  13. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Pointless mate. Your paying for a light up apple logo and a shitty operating system.

    Unless you plan on doing a load of graphic design and video editing just get a ultrabook (like the aspire S3 i mentioned).
     
  14. t345e

    t345e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Bristol
    Dude I'm using my Mrs' laptop which is like 5 years old and really slow but serato works like a charm, never had any problems with it at all, little bit gittery at points but its all good. I don't think you need a mssively specd up comp to run it to be honest. Obviously if you can get a nice one go for it, my mates macbook air runs so smooth.
     
  15. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    You do notice performance increases in serato when you use a decent machine. For example more RAM means tunes get loaded into serato quicker rather than waiting a few seconds for it to load. And more processing power means the machine doesnt struggle to process the timecode signal into a place in the tune being played.

    At the end of the day a higher specc'd machine will always be better, but doesnt necessarily mean its needed.

    If you do want to go for a macbook air or similar, i really do recommend looking at other kinds of ultrabooks like the lenovo ideapad or acer aspire s3 etc. Cant stress enough how much of a waste of money it is to buy a macbook if all you reallllyyyy want it for is to run a DVS.
     
  16. dirty breaks

    dirty breaks Guest

    13" Macbook Pro
     
  17. Binary_UK

    Binary_UK Binary.

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    Bristol
    You want a lappy with a fairly fast hdd, 4gb ram (its so cheap these days you might as well) and a Core 2 Duo or faster.


    Sent from my HUAWEI U8815 using Tapatalk 2