Sound Quality Question

DJ Spliff

Never Enuff Vinyl
VIP Junglist
I got Return To The Temple EP - Break in the mail the other day. I was playing 'Now It's Going' and it sounded like shit. Now I've replaced my needles recently so I thought "great my speakers are fucked". But I put in Friction's 'Assassins' CD and played the same tune and it sounded great. I've been using a Numark DM10001X for the past 3 years. I've actually owned it for a lot longer than that but have been really practicing diligently for the past 3 years. Can the sound quality on a mixer degrade over the years? Will a newer higher-end mixer have better sound quatlity? Any other thoughts/suggestions?

Did you play the CD through your mixer?

Did you play the record on a different system? It could have just been a bad pressing.

However, numark products have been known to disintigrate very quickly - my bets are that your mixer is dying.

No I didn't play the CD through my mixer. I don't have a CDJ (yet). so it was just through a CD player hooked up to my stereo. So it could be my mixer? Not all of my tunes are sounding like shit just a select few.

No I didn't play the CD through my mixer. I don't have a CDJ (yet). so it was just through a CD player hooked up to my stereo. So it could be my mixer? Not all of my tunes are sounding like shit just a select few.

Play a track and wiggle all the EQ knobs & Line faders on your mixer, if it is your mixer you will hear some crackling or drop outs when you wiggle the knob or fader. Some of this is easy to fix some of it is not worth fixing depends on $$. If a new fader is 10$ no problems, but if its the board with all the eq knobs on it - things can get pricy quick