So My Xbox is fucked...

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Borf™, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. Borf™

    Borf™ Borf

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Cardiff, not the Valleys
    The towel trick worked, but it's fucked anyway, so I thought I'd buy an Elite. But, is there anyway I can transfer all my data from my current 20GB hard drive to the one that comes with the elite?
     
  2. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    buy a ps3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    but no idea unless u get a memory card and put the game saves on there and copy ur music and stuff onto ur computer
     
  4. Borf™

    Borf™ Borf

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Cardiff, not the Valleys
    But I've got downloaded content (Add on maps and such) that are too big to fit on the memory card. Some stuff is like 1.5GB
     
  5. ac

    ac I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new Elites should come with a Data Transfer kit.
     
  6. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    this is wat u need
    aparently if u upgrade to elite they give u a free one but im not sure....

    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemuse/xbox360/console/datamigration.htm


    * 1. Connect your 20GB HDD to your new Elite console
    * 2. Turn Elite system on and make sure a controller is recognized
    * 3. Connect large end of the transfer cable to the 120GB HDD
    * 4. Connect USB end of transfer cable to a USB port on your Elite console
    * 5. Insert Hard Drive Transfer Disc into your Elite and follow the onscreen i
    * 6. When the transfer is complete, you disconnect the 20GB HDD from the Elite and connect the 120GB HDD and you are all set
     
  7. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    just get a ps3.

    ive had one for ages and it hasnt froze once.

    fucking ring of death man, i had that when i had an xbox it pissed me off, but then i noticed how much better the ps3 was so i bought it
     
  8. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    this.
     
  9. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    2
    soz mate! mine fucked up last week n got the the red ring! sending it off to xbox today to get fixed!! if it happens again ps3 it is! or an elite!
     
  10. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    i had an xbox with the same problem, sent it to get fixed, came back with the same problem, sent it away again and it got lost in the post....got a PS3 and now my days are filled with joy.
     
  11. Snipaz

    Snipaz I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warminster
    Yeah gave up on the Xbox, i was an xbox freaK, but after getting the PS3 i didnt look back
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2009
  12. Borf™

    Borf™ Borf

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,693
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Cardiff, not the Valleys
    I appreciate all your answers, and no offence, but I want to get on xbox, ps3 isn't an option quite frankly.

    Sooooooooo anyone know how to solve my transfering hard drive data to another one?
     
  13. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    this is wat u need
    aparently if u upgrade to elite they give u a free one but im not sure....

    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/sy...amigration.htm


    * 1. Connect your 20GB HDD to your new Elite console
    * 2. Turn Elite system on and make sure a controller is recognized
    * 3. Connect large end of the transfer cable to the 120GB HDD
    * 4. Connect USB end of transfer cable to a USB port on your Elite console
    * 5. Insert Hard Drive Transfer Disc into your Elite and follow the onscreen i
    * 6. When the transfer is complete, you disconnect the 20GB HDD from the Elite and connect the 120GB HDD and you are all set

    durr tharr hurr durrrr :teeth:
     
  14. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Slimbo answered your question.
     
  15. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Thats a sticky situation right there..

    and XBOX FTW!!!!
     
  16. djhektikz

    djhektikz Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do the elite's not fuck up then??
     
  17. slimbo011

    slimbo011 I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucester
    NO xbox is immune to the red ring!

    i have no idea why the ps3 is £100 more expensive tho :clown:
     
  18. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    careful theres not something wrong with your hard drive tho. otherwise youll put that in your elite and you migth fuck that aswell.
     
  19. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    because the ps3 has everything built in, wireless internet, harddrive, no batteries for controllers, blu ray


    with xbox you have to buy all that shit serperatly prettymuch
     
  20. Blurr

    Blurr Wasted Selection

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    3
    this

    don't forget the free PSN service compared with xbox live monthly charge, you also get a online store that deals in real currency instead of a stupid points system...

    they've sorted flash player on the browser now so you can watch youtube videos etc. in full screen on ur TV, BBC have also done a console version of their iplayer page