Skeeettt!!

Discussion in 'Production' started by RevTech, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    New sig.

    Anyways, I was wondering why FL makes crackling noises when I play it on my speakers (not so much on me headphones)
     
  2. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    It might be cus your spreakers are not magnetically sheilded from you computer. Mine are the same cus they are shit.
     
  3. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    cpu..if u use alot of delay ect
     
  4. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    turn your speakers upside down. will defo do the trick
     
  5. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Any tips on how to lower that? Maybe an option to lower the sound quality a but or something?
     
  6. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK

    I don't use FL but lowering the sound resolution can be an easy fix but never a good idea as u miss out important parts of ur mix, eq is next to impossible (unless u wanna keep re-exporting in hi res listening back, then tweaking again in low res - can be well frustrating!!)

    best upgrade ur pc mate ;)

    edit - there are ways to optimise ur pc (cleaning up ur hard drive etc etc) but I did this once, followed this guide in music tech magazine, and I could hardly notice the difference on the effect of my programs performance :( really if u have a good processor and a nice chunk or RAM u shouldn't have this issue
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2008
  7. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Got a new hard drive, and I put my Image Line crap in there only. 110 g just for VSTs and samples and such. It's a medium sized diff.

    Yeah, I might need to lower the sound quality a bit. If anyone can point out where exactly in fruity. I shall be in your debt
     
  8. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    If it doesnt happen in your headphones then it's not a case of cpu power but something to do with your speakers. Maybe this magnetic shielding goes haywire as some other dude said or they could even be broken. Lack of cpu power presents itself as stuttering or sudden drop of audio.

    Anyway, you can test if enlarging the buffer size would help, press F10 and click audio tab and adjust buffer length to the right, maybe even maximum just to test things.
     
  9. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Just what I wanted, F10.

    Big up for a top notch answer. I bet other people have this problem too.