Saving CPU with Mac (logic)

Discussion in 'Production' started by JungleFever, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    How do I save CPU my mac is so slow now it cant even open logic :S I have deleted so many samples and its still really slow, I know I should buy an external Hard drive but I cant afford, So I have been deleting shit like crazy, Does anyone know if I need .html documents, as i have thousands ?!

    tips:

    Get monolingual: it deletes other languages yourl never use I saved .8 of a gb of space!
    app stopper is also ok
    onyx ive downloaded and is apparently good but I cant open it.

    Anyone else have any tips on freeing up space?
     
  2. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    if youve got 10% of your harddrive free then deleating more wont make your computer much quicker.

    have you tried cleaning it physically? like getting rid of dust?
     
  3. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    erm no how would i go about doing that?
     
  4. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    Buy some compressed air from pc work or wherever. Open your CPU and blast out all the dust, check the fans in particular. Just be carefully to hold the can upright as If it's upside down then it can spray out some moisture. I recon this'll make a big difference, let us know if youve still got proba after this.
     
  5. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    ye nice idea mate now u said that i think its is the fans cos it gets very hot very fast.. do you think a hoover will do the same effect lol
     
  6. Innovine

    Innovine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sweden
    No, a can of compressed air is much better than a hoover. Dont use compressed air when the computer is on, as it will induce very rapid cooling, and if the computer is hot, this cooling can cause damage to components.

    By the way, how does cleaning it, or deleting files make it go faster? Perhaps some actual sense would be better. If its getting hot, thats very likely cos you are using up the full CPU. You should check what is actually using the cpu, perhaps there are things running in the background that you can disable. You can get a list of the top processes hogging the cpu by running Aplications/Utilities/Terminal and typing top -o cpu
    This should show you whats eating up the cpu. Paste the top few rows in here.

    Other ideas are to disable spotlight (which performs periodic indexing, which is very disk intensive). Google that.

    If you have crappy amounts of RAM, an upgrade there can show big improvement (most noticibly when changing between apps, but in general everything is nicer with more RAM).

    Deleting .html files will proably not cause any problems, nor will it improve the speed by a measurable amount.
     
  7. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    nice one il try that out mate
     
  8. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    From the way people go on I thought macs' never get ill no need doctor all day happy time :D
     
  9. phaselocked

    phaselocked New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a freeze function in logic! Google it! It's used a lot by people who don't have a lot of CPU. It freezes a track (you can't edit it anymore, unless you unfreeze) and takes no CPU.
     
  10. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    @Innovine

    In terminal do i type "top -o cpu" ? I might give this a go once i get back to my macbook (i use a pc in the studio) as its been a little slow recently. Cheers for the tips.
     
  11. lettuce

    lettuce Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chemnitz/germany
    check your audio configuration in logic, especially core audio driver. there you can reduce the number of audio tracks, if you donĀ“t need them. this will not save cpu power, but a lot of ram during a session.
     
  12. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
  13. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    thanks :) My mac is still fucked and has actually gotten worse believe it or not! does anyone know anything about corrupt files or a corrupt hard drive.. As I download certain effects etc illegally do you think this has a nasty effect on my hard drive and can really fuck it up? :( I havnt been able to make music in weeks :'(
     
  14. vexx

    vexx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you dont have an external hard drive, does that mean you dont have your tracks backed up?
     
  15. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    Have you done a HDD scan using the utilities?
     
  16. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    thanks il try that when im home :)

    ---------- Post added at 21:45 ---------- Previous post was at 21:42 ----------

    and no i dont but fuck it i dont think there good enuf yet anyways
     
  17. 123kidd

    123kidd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, it would help to know what kind of mac this is?
    Good point on turning spotlight off. Also try disabling dashboard while your at it.
    Change the dock from 3d to 2d( much easier on the eyes imho)
    Change minimize effect to scale i believe.
    Set colors to thousands on display under preferences.
    Basically remove useless eye candy that could add to your systems resources.
    Use Onyx to perform some of the tasks mentioned above.
    Also make sure to repair permissions and run scripts.
    Make sure to restart the system after all this.
    If all else fails then perhaps a good old fashioned backup and reinstallation of osx should do the trick.

    As someone mentioned earlier, while running your daw, make sure that other apps are closed and that airport is turned off.