samplers with LFO?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Headspace1, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. Headspace1

    Headspace1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anybody know any samplers with lfo?
    i have KONTAKT but i cant seem to get LFO with it only pitch LFO

    cheers
     
  2. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Shortcircuit!! It has 3 step LFO's for each channel which you can link to anything anywhere through a mod matrix. Look in the sticky topic about free programs that are commonly warezed for a link. The more I use the program the more I love it, and it kicks Kontakt's ass on most fronts. It looks a bit plain and hectic at first sight, but once you discover what's underneath it's a piss and much more straightforward than the big K.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  3. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    :word:

    I thought I'd have to buy some expensive soft sampler while moving away from FLstudio, but shortcircuit proved that's not the case. It doesn't come with bundled sound libraries but fuck that, I already have so much sounds I dont want to pay myself silly.

    Shortcircuit all the way.

    Btw grits have you tested the last v2 beta? is there a difference?
     
  4. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    cool to hear you're doing SC too mate!
    yeah there's a big difference, it looks much more attractive to begin with, and it has much more functions and forward stuff like auditioning samples (weird SC1 doesn't support this but I know ways around). check the website of vember audio for more details. however, it lacks some features since it's held in development. that is instantly the downside to SC2 (and 1): they're not being developed anymore and SC2 was abandoned while still in development. The version out now is good though, but it's stability is not guaranteed and therefore I still use SC1 which is good enough for me. People claim that the output from SC2 is better than 1 though. but in the end the best of both programs is that they're free... BLISS.
    That said, a lot of people say they use SC2 without any problem at all, so it's up to you in the end!
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  5. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    I think one of the samplers on reason 4 has LFO.

    As far as VST's, i am not sure
     
  6. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    I use Halion 3 which has LFO's.

    I might try out this Shortcircuit though if everyone is raving on about it... Halion isn't always the nicest sampler for user interface.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  7. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    I had the same with kontakt man. Too much hassle to do something simple, illogical interface and it didn't speak to me. not like something as the FL sampler did by a longshot. getting down your samples should be a fun and clear process. K just did my head in and doesn't even have a proper portamento.
    yes, I still rejoice the day I discovered there were better alternatives!
     
  8. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    yeah really. i had a look at halion 1 and it wasnt very friendly to mess with at all, i could hardly figure out how to load a sample. might justve been me though, im real curious about SC though
     
  9. Reactor Grits

    Reactor Grits lick a shot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    since you're always first at session, I can give you a quick walkthrough tonight if you like mate!
     
  10. JamesZero

    JamesZero aka Zero Beats

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    South London
    Nah, it ain't just you mate... its not user friendly at all.