Salaryman - He Knows [Technique Summer LP 2016]


Active Member
Sep 1, 2008
Salaryman - He Knows [Technique Summer LP 2016]

Out This Friday
Technique Summer 2016 Album
Full tracklist & info:
All Stores
Technique Store

The cover art proudly proclaims Technique's Summer 2016 album to be “100% Drum and Bass”. You might be forgiven for thinking that begs more questions that it answers. There's a huge breadth and versatility encompassed within the genre. So, you're left asking, what particular flavour of D&B are we talking about? Well, to answer your query, pretty much all of them.
Across thirty-seven tracks, Drumsound and Bassline Smith have assembled a cross-section of D&B that only has one thing in common: that summertime vibe. The label bosses themselves roll through with the fluid jungle of the Solah-laced “Cover Our Eyes”, the no-holds-barred funk of “Rise of the Black Panther” and their epic dubwise collaboration with Digital, “First World Problem”.
And then there are the big name cameos from artists not normally seen under the Technique banner. Brookes Brothers and Danny Byrd team up with the uplifting drive of “Climb High”, matched in hands-in-the-air power by the euphoric piano of The Prototypes' “Don't Let Me Go”. J Majik recruits 78° and Louie Cabrera for “Day I Left” and “Idcomercial” respectively. And the mighty DJ SS drops an emotively claustrophobic killer in the form of “Expression”.
Of course, the regular regiment of Technique soldiers are present and correct too. Tantrum Desire delivers the tech atmospherics of “Tesoro”, while Kronology subverts the big-room sound with the unpredictable twists and turns of “Everyday”. L Plus backs up rumbling bass and popping beats with entwined chord patterns in “Invincible”. Plus Document One show two different sides to their character, with the jazzfunk vibe of “Klaxon” and the paranoid sci-fi of “Say What”.
And we're nowhere near covering everything this album has to offer. From the jungle tear-out of Brian Brainstorm's “Badman Selector” to the minimal magic of Oder's “Mesmerize”, via the liquid purity of Salaryman's “He Knows”, this is a journey that needs to be experienced. Any selection that takes you straight from Fade's “Disco Ball” into Conspire's “Glare of Brass” then to Salaryman's “Synthesized Melancholia” is making a statement about the strength in depth of the D&B genre right now.
It's all here. This is the whole summertime drum and bass experience cut up into thirty-seven expertly-formed slices which, taken together, represent the full spectrum of what the scene has to offer. It's as simple as that.
1. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Rise of the Black Panther
2. Polaris – Bring the Heat ft. Schematic
3. Fade & Julia F – Milkyway
4. Tantrum Desire – Tesoro
5. Brookes Brothers – Climb High ft. Danny Byrd
6. Kihmera – Awakening
7. Document One – Klaxon
8. Kronology – Everyday
9. Polaris & Stranjah – Aquarius
10. The Prototypes – Don't Let Me Go ft. Amy Pearson
11. Salaryman – He Knows
12. J Majik & 78° - Day I Left
13. Conspire – Rollin
14. North Base – Tell You Y
15. L Plus – Invincible
16. Schematic & Polaris – Please Don't
17. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – Cover Our Eyes ft. Solah
18. DJ Phantasy & Dextone – It's a Feelin
19. Oder – Mesmerize
20. Digital vs Drumsound & Bassline Smith – First World Problem
21. Document One – Say What
22. DJ SS – Expression
23. Dramatic & Terraform – Guilty
24. J Majik & Louie Cabrera – Idcomercial
25. Gradual – Falling Pieces
26. T-Phonic & Deadman – Reflections
27. Conspire – Inbetween
28. Fade – Disco Ball
29. Conspire – Glare of Brass
30. Salaryman – Synthesized Melancholia
31. Melinki – In Spirit ft. J Rokka
32. The Burner Brothers – Bring Back the Funk
33. Woofax – Afterburn
34. Deadman – Give it to Me Low
35. Brian Brainstorm – Badman Selector
36. SKMA – 1Up
37. Toronto is Broken – Back Again
For interview requests and further information, contact:

Top Bottom