Room for the hats

Discussion in 'Production' started by Phat_Sam, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    RIGHT... this has been pissing me off for fucking aaaages!


    I've got my beat all sorted and my pads and synths all working together nicely. The beat alone sound fucking sick.

    So, i drop a bassline in and (as ive spent months trying to master the fucking science that is EQing drums) the kick, snare, sub and bassline all connect and sound fluid. great yeah? ... ooooh no, that would make making music far too easy.... THE FUCKING CUNTING HI HATS ALL DECIDE TO NOT MAKE AN APPEARANCE FOR THE DROP.

    Why is that? over compression?! What?!

    Please someone en-fucking-lighten me!

    ---------- Post added at 23:47 ---------- Previous post was at 23:46 ----------

    ill post an example when i can
     
  2. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Yeah its compression. If the hats are there but they dont get to the top, you probably got a limiter or a compression on the master or drum buss that eats it away. That, or you just forgot a filter on.

    If there's somethign on your master, remove it and listen to what the mix sounds like without it. Then do it all from scratch LOL.
     
  3. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
  4. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    can you route your hats to their own channel on the mixer? should help seperate them from other processing
     
  5. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    thats a pretty good idea actually... ill try that
     
  6. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Ahh mate. Now you're using FL I can hopefully help you more and more lol!

    Before starting a track, always (and I really mean always) get rid of that useless fuckin fruity limiter that sits on the master channel for a start. If you have PSP Vintage Warmer, throw that on the master channel with the settings as follows. Output= -2db/ Bass = -2/ High = -2/ drive = +4db. Then also put the 'Soundgoodizer' on the master channel too, and turn it down slightly. This helps give your sounds appear fuller. It also helps the high end a little.

    When I write my drums I have every kick, snare and hat sitting on their own individual mixer channel, that way you can EQ each piece on its own.

    Oh, and thanks for naming a track after me lol! ;)


    Edit: After listening to the track you posted I have to ask; Do you put your bass on a mixer channel and mono it? Cos it sounds pretty wide, that may be part of the problem too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  7. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    I was just thinking the same thing.
     
  8. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,075
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    i always leave my hats as they are, on a seperate channel and dont touch them, too delicate to mess around with imo and they usualy naturaly sit above everything else.
     
  9. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    Yeah I always was taught kick, snares and ghosted in mono their own bus, then their own limiter, then deffo keep the hats completely separate from the rest. If they sound weak then sometimes use and Exciter but then again if they aint good samples to start with then don't try and make something shit better, the old cant polish a turd saying.

    ---------- Post added at 13:25 ---------- Previous post was at 13:22 ----------

    Also there is shit load of ducking going on, the kick sounds distorted too. Bloody Fruity :p
     
  10. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    thats what I thought. They can still get drowned out though.

    I do everything you've said except, the bass in mono thing and using the soundgoodizer. I'm gonna try both of those. All drum tracks are separate. I've bussed them all so i can add hi pass filters to them though.(that's probably the problem)
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  11. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i cant have anything on the master channel when i write, cos the samples dont sound the same in the sequencer as they do in the audio editor / emu. but each to their own.
     
  12. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    Yeah, when I used FL9 I felt I had to put Soundgoodizer on the master channel as it just polished up the sound, but now in ableton I don't put anything on the master channel
     
  13. Nacon

    Nacon Vidual

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Estonia
    This is a really strange psychology, as soundgoodizer sucks ballz even though i've been a FL user the whole time.
     
  14. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,498
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    ^^^^ soundgoodizer o_O really? never use that tbh, apart from some electro'ish sounds..

    only a L2 with minimum settings on my master to avoid clipping when adjusting basssounds or the mix in general. i HATE clipping :D
     
  15. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    I have voxengo SPAN on my master. It really gives my tracks that analog warmth.
     
  16. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,498
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    if id want analogue warmth id take a shitty speaker and mic and bounce through that, haha D:
     
  17. Nacon

    Nacon Vidual

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Estonia
    xD Dude, that's a spectral analyzer...
     
  18. groelle

    groelle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,498
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    northern germany
    ohhh, really? :D lol.
     
  19. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i hear its bad for the hi hats
     
  20. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    Voxengo SPAN is the best for analogue warmth. Also I sometimes add and instance of Firefox for that rich, crisp distortion sound that really brings out the bass