resampling woes - reason

Discussion in 'Production' started by jimjimjim, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    Hey there,
    looking for some tips on resampling.
    What i am trying to do - get a continous tone from a sample. beeeeeeeeeeeep. or at least a longer tone than i can get from the sample.
    So i find a section of a sample that has hardly any movement - set it to loop on zero-crossing points.
    whack that in the sampler and play a note.
    but i get beepbeepbeepbeep.

    I think the problem could be the sample has too much movement in it.
    any tips?

    p.s. using reason and audacity here so no massive for me or any other vsts.
     
  2. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    Try some granular up in that bitch. Makes pretty nice still sounds when tweaked properly. Or maybe try making the sample longer and then cutting the sound and loop. If that doesn't help, there are some vocoders that have freeze option. Good luck my boy!
     
  3. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    cheers dude.
    cant use granular synth - as the only device in reason that has that only comes with its own sounds - you cant put in a sample - called Maelstrom granualr syth.

    will have a go at lengthening the sample - i shoulda thought of that.

    :D
     
  4. Dubsta

    Dubsta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    49
    stick it in a nn19.......in the filter section....0 attack, fully open the gate, full sustain.....add some reverb, and some chorus, also a delay unit to suit.....i do that when i got gaps inbetween sounds and in a sense want to make them sort of become one sound. hope that helps.

    also try playing the sound at differnet pitches or keys
     
  5. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    What kind of "granular" is that if you can't put own sample in?! Retarded that's what.
     
  6. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    its comes with about 60 inbuilt sounds that you can use. - in granular way (shifting points along the sample - or whatever its called in graintable syntesis)
    but yeah - would better with yer own

    also cheers dubsta m8