Resampling & Sound manipulation

KMSTRY

KMSTRY
Hey guys,

I've been producing for about 2 years and I'm kinda getting sick of my sound, I can't make the jump from amateur to legit.

Here are a list of things I've got at my disposal, so if you know of any techniques that answer my questions using these I'd love to hear them!

Synths: Massive, FM8, Albino 3, Predator, Gladiator, Cyclop.

Effects Plug-ins: Camel Crusher, Sausage Fattener, the Oxford Plug ins, the Waves Plugs in, WOW, Effectrix, Turnado, Vogue, Artillery2.

There are a couple of things I keep reading about that I don't really get;

1. Resampling

What exactly is resampling?

2. Sound manipulation

Noisia is a great example of this; they said in the DOA Q&A they did a while back that they recorded the sound of a high pressure window cleaning hose and turned it into a synth...

I know this is dubstep but Coki made the synth for his track 'Goblin' by sampling Spongebob Squarepants and doing stuff to it until it sounded sick.

What's the process here? Are there any specific plug-ins I should be using, any techniques?

And once I've got the sound, how do I tune it?

3. General

a) Reverb

Do you guys always use a reverb on a bus or do you tend to put your reverb in-line with your other plug ins?

b) Kick-Sub Frequency Clashes

What kind of EQ should I be putting onto my Kick so that it still has punch, but doesn't clash with the sub-bass

c) Neuro Basslines + Stabs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVrWMv9gFs8

All through this track there are weird little neuro stabs with automation on them...how do you go about creating sounds like that

This might be answered in my question about sound manipulation, but I was wondering if FM8 could be used to do the same kinda thing?

Sorry for such a long post! Any help would be seriously appreciated!

Hey man, I'm gonna try and answer these questions for you as best I can, so here goes.....

1 - Resampling.