Renin - Chrysalis // New EP Project

Discussion in 'New Talent & Track Reviews' started by Renin, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Renin

Renin New Member

I'm kind of a beginner, but I scoured the internet looking for a community to learn from and improve with, so I'm hoping this is the place. Anyways, my current project is a small EP currently named "Chrysalis", which may or may not be completely drum & bass. I just finished the first track yesterday, for which the album is named. I also spent a little bit of time making an album cover.

Like I said, I'm really new to this, and I'm looking for a place to learn. So if you have any criticism whatsoever, constructive or not, please help me out and post it.

Current EP Cover:

[​IMG]

Track 1 - Chrysalis
    FREE Download (320kbps)

Since this is also kind of serving as my introductory post, I hope I'm not breaking any rules or traditions.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  2. Nautilus

Nautilus Member

if you are going to highpass it at the beginning, dont cut it off after 2 bars. drop needs a bit of work. meat in the middle sounds good, high hats need a bit of work. I personally hate random blabber within tracks, so maybe just eliminate them and add in some of your own instrumental variation. power chords are sounding nice and full. good work!

3. Renin

Renin New Member

Thanks! Can I just ask you to elaborate on your first statement? Are you saying I should just highpass the entire intro?

4. djdevz

djdevz Member

i think the drums need to punch harder, make sure everything is eq'd nice and tight, and i agree with nautilus about the random chat going on, but thats up to u..
    have u put any reverb on ur break? n i think some variation on ur riff of your synth would be cool imho.

5. Renin

Renin New Member