Recording to PC

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by jayded, May 29, 2009.

  1. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    I have the kam ddx 750 decks and the mix 150 mixer put through to a korg minikp 3. i tried to record to my pc using the line out on the kp3 but when i listen to it its really distored so much that you can hardly make out the music. do i need a usb interface or something to record?
    thanks...
     
  2. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Was you using the Mic In on your PC? Make sure you're using the Line In, if you've got one :) Also check your levels throughout the signal chain
     
  3. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    ive tried mic in and line in. i saw just a second ago when i did a search that i should mute the mic input when using line input so ill try that and see what happens. my MKP 3 distorts the signal itself when i switch the volumes up on my mixer so the output on the mixer is not very high and not showing up on the equilizer atall and the volume o each deck is at about 2 bars above zero with gain at about -2 Db. so im pretty much having to control volume using my amp.
     
  4. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    no im still getting crazy distortion. through both inputs. its making a constant buzzing noise the whole way through. im going to record a mix any way using my mic. but my mics really rubbish and it sounds hollow but i still gonna do it.
    any one else had this problem.
    another problem with my gear is that every now and then when i change records the volume on either the left or right channel drops down so i only hear from one speaker or headphone and i have to take the lead out and plug it back in again. could this be faulty gear or crap cheap gear?
     
  5. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    what pc are you recording to? laptop or desktop?
     
  6. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    desktop.
    im running this.

    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP 2
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual
    Core Processor 4200+
    2.21 Ghz, 1.50 Gb of RAM
    Physical Address Memory
    DirectX 9.0C
    HD Audio
    Audio Codec = ALC888
    Realtek HD Audio Input and Output

    Dont Know what soundcard sorry.
     
  7. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    found a new thing. even when the lline input vollume is down at zero the noise still comes through.
     
  8. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it a humming noise or just distortion? what software are you recording with?
     
  9. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    using the demo of wavepad but it did the same when i had audacity installed.
    its a really loud humming noise. I apologize... i should have said that instead of distortion.:rinsed:
     
  10. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    it might have something to do with your powercable/powerpack not earthing properly
     
  11. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    would this thing help any. only thing is its like 15 times more expensive.
    http://www.htfr.com/more-info/MR195400
    but also i dont like behringer.
    i think ill go for the hum isolater that you suggested.
    thankyou very much.
     
  13. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats something completely different. i think its a problem thats quite common, if the earth wire in the power cable/powerpack isnt quite connected probley it ommits a hum, as do most electrical items. if you have a spare power cable that will fit your pc, you could try that first, it can sometimes fix it. is it an old pc/powerpack/powercable?
     
  14. jayded

    jayded jjjJayded

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    maybe 2-3 years old.