Recording mixs

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by alain250sxf, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. alain250sxf

    alain250sxf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    How does everyone record their mixes? My mixer has a L/R record output, but I dont know if I should put it on tape or what...tapes are pretty useless after all. How do you guys get it on MP3 format?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. AuGsY

    AuGsY DJ apprentice

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    hook it up to a cd recorder, i believe there is a way to record it right onto ur computer also.
     
  3. mesh

    mesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    INSIDE
    you can go straight to the PC with a decent soundcard,
    i do mine onto an old (5 years) creative nomad, records in .wav format.
    did all my first mixes onto minidisc, and now I cant listen to em anymore :missile:
     
  4. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Its very simple.

    Buy a RCA (what you have on your mixer) -> jack cable (like your walkman/mp3 player headphones) on ebay.

    Stick the jack end into the line in of your soundcard. If you don't have one, then buy yourself a new soundcard, they're extremely cheap.

    Open Audio Recorder in Windows or the recording program that came with your sound card. Set up the volumes in your Windows control panel so that you are recording input from line in (generally you can only record from one external source).

    Press record. Start mixing. Stop mixing. Press stop. Convert to 192 or 256 mp3 and upload.
     
  5. alain250sxf

    alain250sxf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I did. Thanks for the replies. Im using Cubase SX3 to record and it works decent. Still not best quality but it works for now.