recording a mix

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by scampi, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. scampi

    scampi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    daventry
    anyone know any decent programs for recording a mix, ive got one but it shit n cant make it sound clear
     
  2. aladdin sane

    aladdin sane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    right behind you
    adobe auditions good. i use 1.5 but i think it's up to about 3 or something now
     
  3. Danny_Intro

    Danny_Intro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    wavepad, go on google n search it
     
  4. scampi

    scampi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    daventry
  5. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    total recorder, simple and effective
     
  6. DJ NUERA

    DJ NUERA 5HEAD

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    CRANIUM
    Audacity, all you need! and you can export to mp3 as well.
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
  8. Dj_Clippa

    Dj_Clippa Mix n Blend '

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    milton keynes
    sorry for askin a bit of a dumb question lol but do i jus go straight from my mixer to my laptop/pc ??? with a phono lead or something ?
     
  9. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    624
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    you use a headphone jack to phono lead, an just plug it from your mixer to your line in/mic input on your laptop/computer
     
  10. Dj_Clippa

    Dj_Clippa Mix n Blend '

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    milton keynes
    were in my mixer?? surely i would need a phono to phono unless it would run from my headphone input ???? ive neva recorded a mix lol hence the retardedness haha
     
  11. Fortune^

    Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Manchester
    Another tip is to check your gains, even if you can't tell when you're recording it might show up on the mix.
     
  12. Fortune^

    Fortune^ ( ͠° ͟ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,134
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Manchester
    You should run a phono to jack from the 'booth' or 'rec' outputs on your mixer into the 'line in' or 'mic' inputs on your computer
     
  13. Dj_Clippa

    Dj_Clippa Mix n Blend '

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    milton keynes
  14. scampi

    scampi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    daventry
    safe people. im using audacity but cant get it to sound clear, anyone know how get it to sound perfect lol
     
  15. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
    yeah.... get adobe audition... or the newer release that is soundbooth... you can happily monitor your levels in the mixe as you go along!
     
  16. gsand

    gsand Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just noticed you have the VMC004XL, which as far as I know, is USB capable with a Vestax module that goes in the frontside of the mixer.

    Mine had the USB from factory, but the manual for it was an addendum, and explained fitting to another vestax mixer.

    usb straight into the PC record with Audacity - sounds crisp :)
     
  17. zoomy

    zoomy funky chunky

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    consider investing in a proper sound card... on my old pc the recording just sucked, so I got myself an external USB Sound card with my new netbook, sounds a whole lot better now.
    I'm using this one: http://www.terratec.net/en/products/Aureon_5.1_USB_MK_II_2120.html
    For software, I use wavepad but I don't think it makes a big difference which one you use. It's up to personal preferences.
     
  18. barnesy00

    barnesy00 DJZeroZero

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    1
    dont use audacity, its shite, it constantly skips and ruins your mixes id use adobe or wavepad if your willing to pay
     
  19. dryden

    dryden no sleep till gateshead

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Audacity works alright for me, sounds like another process is libbing ur cache.
     
  20. Saint

    Saint Buried Audio

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Leeds
    Just wondering, anyone use ableton to record mixes?