Recording a mix with DJM800

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Lorre, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. Lorre

    Lorre Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Hey guys

    So I've been working on a mix recently until the point where I'm happy to record it. I had a DJM350 before, which had the amazing feature where I could record it straight to USB. Now I bought a DJM800 this summer, and I'm very happy with it. Now I'm looking for advice on how to record my mix.

    First of all, I got a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB interface, I use my macbook to record into Logic. Hooked up the cables from my DJM to my interface, where I put the 1/8inch in the left input. This only records the left (which I think is normal), but I'd like to record stereo. I can record mono, but then most of it sounds horrible.

    What am I missing, or what do I need to do?

    Added pictures of my setup.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    are you going directly out of the booth output on the mixer?
     
  3. Lorre

    Lorre Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Going from the 'rec out' to record, speakers are on master out.
     
  4. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    how old is the macbook? if its one of the old ones you can convert the headphone port into an input, would save alot of hastle. failing that i would try and go from rca to rca into your soundcard
     
  5. Lorre

    Lorre Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Antwerp
    2011 Macbook, I'll give it a try
     
  6. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    i would also download audacity and record into that as its simple to use.
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    You can only record mono using one channel, you'd have to put your left and rights in separately and then bounce them together in Logic.

    Easier would be to get a phono to 3.5mm jack and just record using your MIC in port (if you have one)

    - - - Updated - - -

    oh just seen tonays posts. Your mac will deffo have a Line IN so just use that and Logic. Using Audacity definitely isnt easier tone, you're just a tech-waste :p
     
  8. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,777
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    buy a behringer UCA202 for about £10-£20

    [​IMG]

    use some RCA's from the mixer Record out
    plug into input on the UCA202
    USB from UCA202 into laptop
    open Audacity
    Set record input to USB

    Job done...

    As a bonus you can put some RCA's from UCA202's output into a spare channel on your mixer...
    Then after you have recorded something, you can play it back out of the mixer which will then in turn use the same speakers as ur decks and not the laptops internal speakers.
     
  9. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    or just ignore teddy and get a cable for £1 :p
     
    Teddy and Lorre like this.
  10. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    You can do this without using the Focusrite interface.

    Go from the Record out of your mixer straight into the input/headphone socket of your Macbook. Setup Logic to record audio from that input and hit record on the audio channel.

    No need to buy any other cables at all.
     
  11. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    I already said that MATE





    :teeth:
     
    Gloxxy likes this.
  12. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    Well.........m9................If you'd have observed the picture correctly, you would have noticed that he is already using a phono to 3.5mm jack cable with a 1/4 TRS adapter on it to plug into his Focusrite.

    :teeth:
     
  13. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Ah i didnt even
     
  14. Lorre

    Lorre Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Antwerp
    Alright, cheers guys, made it. After one hour of recording I found out that for some reason my x-fader curve was on a different slope, so time to start over.