Reason

Discussion in 'Production' started by dafo93, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. dafo93

    dafo93 SWITCH FUSION

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Wales
    Heard good things about Reason...I feel I've reached my potential with Fruity, is Reason worth investing in to be used as a DAW/Sequencer? Cheers
     
  2. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    if uve used FL dont go to reason imo

    go to cubase or something

    then again nowt wrong with FL really
     
  3. dafo93

    dafo93 SWITCH FUSION

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Wales
    Oh ok then cheers m8 :)
     
  4. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Theres nothing wrong with Reason, although its not really a DAW as it doesnt offer audio in/out. As Zeal said, Cubase would be worth a look, it has a good sequencer and mixer and there are various versions available. What sort of thing are you looking at doing with it?

    I have reason, but I Re-wire it to Pro Tools so I can use it alongside audio and other instruments.

    Hope thats some use to you!
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  5. Alexi

    Alexi Drench Audio

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol/Southampton
    THIS

    if moving on from FL, best to go to a more advanced DAW than reason, as Zeal said Cubase or imo Ableton Live, they both are more advanced with ability to manipulate audio and use VSTs, whereas reason can't so is quite limited when advancing in production
     
  6. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    imo id run reason through cubase, the possibilities are pretty much endless then
     
  7. dafo93

    dafo93 SWITCH FUSION

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    North Wales
    Thanks! I'll try Cubase soon then :) I have the lite version of Ableton Live 7 that I got with my MIDI keyboard and to be honest, I can't for the life of me figure it out, I found the layout extremely cluttered and confusing. Is the full version better?
     
  8. Alexi

    Alexi Drench Audio

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol/Southampton
    well, and this is just my opinion of using Cubase SX3 & Ableton Live 7, if you find Liver cluttered, you won't much like cubase