Reason help

Discussion in 'Production' started by Dustek, Nov 3, 2004.

  1. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    I'm just getting into Reason after working with other progs. Its a lot of fun but I have a serious problem...

    After RTFM I still don't know how I can properly drop an acapella (say a wave) into the track I'm working on. I want to drop the whole acapella and build around it.

    In most progs, I'd drop it into a track in the sequencer and have a nice waveform to look at and edit so I can match the peaks, stretch the beat and have fun with it.

    Can't do that in Reason.

    The only way I can figure out to drop the acapella into Reason is through the NN19 Sampler - load the acapella into the sampler and then play it (holding my board key down for 5 minutes :) or by setting the wave as a drum sound. But that only gives me a sampler/drum note to look at.

    I guess I could chop the acapella up in another program,, say Cool Edit pro, but that would be tedious.

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. sylus

    sylus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you not put the accapella in recycle chop it and then put it into rex format and copy it to the sequencer track from doctor rex. I think you would have to chop it up unless your track will be the same bpm as the accapella.
     
  3. Affliction

    Affliction thought size didnt matter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    You could try ReWiring into Cubase - you could drop the acapella into a cubase audio track and then write in Reason like normal - plus you'd have the benefit of Cubase's time stretching tools for the acapella
     
  4. DJ Kaotic

    DJ Kaotic Step Off

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South London
    I'd go with this suggestion if your PC is powerful enough, if like me you are running a PC from the stone age then cutting the acapella up in another programme into seperate .wavs then using it in the NN19s in reason is the way to go..and yes it is extremely tedious.
     
  5. Cube

    Cube www.exegene.com

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    manchester uk

    indeed.

    but just wait until you're transient shaping, and using a load of compressors on each individual drum hits :-/

    now that gets tedious.
    but fun in a geeky way :oops:

    i <3 compression
     
  6. daky

    daky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lil' place called pompy.
    can u just draw in the automated note on the nn-19 keyboard synthesizer,wot i do usually is cut up my desired wav. in wave-lab (steinberg) then use an nn19 to draw it on the right part of my track.then group it into 1 box on the main sequencer.
    boring but worth it
    :cool:
     
  7. Dustek

    Dustek Finished the PhD

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,914
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    London on the Wisla
    Looks like I'll need a week off work to create my epic nu bass & booty trance rave happy hard step remix of Anita Dobson's accapella of the Eastenders tune.