Reason 8 Announced

Discussion in 'Production' started by wesStyle, Aug 7, 2014.

  1. wesStyle

    wesStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Somewhere in cold Russia
  2. SoundDigest

    SoundDigest New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    "We put the flow...back into workflow" lol.

    About time though!
     
  3. akmusic

    akmusic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    6
    I really don't like this flat design. Not that it isn't fancy, but a I'm used to the 'ugly' Reason. Besides, the drag & drop is a great idea, but I hope I can switch off the file browser when I'm on my 15" laptop...

    I hope they'll add curved automation...
     
  4. sonic72

    sonic72 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    48
    No VSTs and patching virtual cables to route stuff! What a joke of a DAW!
     
  5. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    someone always has to go there in any reason thread :(
    thanks for your input m8

    On topic - yeah i dont think i will be paying for a new workflow update.
    havent done any producing for a year but started again recently - so trying to remember all the stuff i forgot - dont need a new workflow to mess my head up even more.
     
    IV4 likes this.
  6. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Can't believe they still haven't added third party vst support.
     
  7. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    doubt they ever will
     
  8. akmusic

    akmusic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    6
    It makes sidechaining really easy. Besides, its a good (obviously relative) , different concept, compared to all the other DAW's which are practically the same.
     
  9. Know One

    Know One Living A Lie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    That Big Country Everyone Hates
    Haha, I wanted to be the one to say "still no VST's!". I used to use reason all the time, but grew out of it eventually.

    The thing is, it will never never never have VST's (like many of us already know, even though it gets brought up every release).

    Reason not having VST support is one of the reasons its so damn solid and never crashes. They can control the entire environment and not have to write code it fit third party stuff being jammed in there product.

    Reason was fun when I used it. It could run on the crappyest of computers and never crash or bug out. It just kept on going.

    :: sent from android with tapatalk ::
     
  10. mnty

    mnty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nottingham
    What's wrong with Rack Extensions?

    RE>VST imo
     
  11. wesStyle

    wesStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Somewhere in cold Russia
    There are some:
    - there is not enough choice... Just go to RE shop and count the good REs and then do the same with VSTs :)
    - You need to pay again for the same plugins you already own which is not usually the case with vst/au/aax/anything else versions of the same plugins
    - there are dozens of free or superlow cost high-quality plugins there(Klanghelm, Sonimus, SKnote etc.) not available as RE
    - the SDK is still very limited especially GUI-wise and that is one of the reasons of why developers just can't port their current plugins. (Urs Heckman said it numerously on kvr but with the lates update of SDK may be they will port Satin).

    Also I believe Propellerheads do not guarantee stability with 3rd party REs... so this argument is weak.
     
  12. mnty

    mnty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I guess the whole 'having to purchase again' thing doesn't affect me as Reason has been my only DAW since ver4.

    I do agree with your comment regarding choice though, I much admit there's only been a few purchases on my account.

    I stay positive though :)
     
  13. Know One

    Know One Living A Lie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    That Big Country Everyone Hates
    The rack entention thing was a cool addition, when I saw that I was excited for reason users and wished it had that option back when I was stall using it. But it wasn't enough to make me run out and get it or switch from ableton.

    It's been a wile since I've used reason... Version 3 or so I think, maybe it was 4, can't quite remember. Can you drop straight audio into a track yet even?

    :: sent from android with tapatalk ::
     
  14. mnty

    mnty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Haha yes, audio can be used in Reason now ;) and you can do some really great stuff with it also.

    It's so easy to time stretch samples to match your bpm etc :)
     
  15. IV4

    IV4 Currently a newt.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,161
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    I work exclusively in reason and I love and hate it. I think I will by Logic next.
     
  16. mnty

    mnty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nottingham
    How easy is Logic to get into? I tried it a few years ago and struggled but I think it was because I was so used to Reason.
     
  17. wesStyle

    wesStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Somewhere in cold Russia
    It is relatively easy to get into, especially Logic Pro X with revamped user interface. Plus there are dozens of tutorials to help you get started.
     
  18. Know One

    Know One Living A Lie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    That Big Country Everyone Hates
    I used to really wanna get into Logic. I had a bunch or friends that ended up switching to it. The built in devices/plugs are really nice, but I never had enough money for a new MAC to be able to switch over. All the money I had ended up going to software, speakers, keyboards, etc.

    Now about half of the people I know that switched to Logic have come back to ableton due to all the errors and crashing logic has. Plus apparently it wouldn't make full or intelligent use of all the CPU cores. I never owned it, so I never experienced the frustration of crashes and core issues.... But I have played around with it on other people computers and it seemed quite nice.

    Did crash a bit though.... Although I've seen a lot of DAW's do that. Except Reason though, lol. I use ableton now after leaving reason around v4 (I think that was the version).

    :: sent from android with tapatalk ::
     
  19. wesStyle

    wesStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Somewhere in cold Russia
    Logic is pretty much as stable as other DAWs. Most of the crashes are caused by VSTs(I think only Bitwig deal with it properly but I don't know for sure) and generally it shouldn't be a reason to abandon Logic or any other DAW.
    Ableton on the other side have enough of its own problems(PDC, anyone?).

    I am on Cubase 7.5.2 and it crashes may be one time a week, maybe two times. So what? I will not switch back to Ableton because of that.

    My point is - try everything yourself and see if DAW fits you and do not always listen to other people saying that "Logikz crashz like hellz go buy abletonz!!". These are commercial products we are talking about and they were tested enough to prevent frequent crashes. And if there was a major crash problem with Logic - you would see tons of threads about it everyday.
    Sadly there is no demo of Logic but you can request a moneyback on Mac App Store without any problems.
     
  20. Know One

    Know One Living A Lie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    That Big Country Everyone Hates
    I know Reaper has the ability to not crash when encountering vst issues. Runs them in some kinda self contained shell (can't remember what it's called) so if the vst crashes, the DAW won't.

    Would be cool if more DAW's had that. I have to look up the Bitwig thing your talking about.... Been hearing a lot about that program. Seems cool, just can't believe a brand new DAW is $400 for the first release. I figured they sell it for around $200 to rope everyone in and get a good buzz going on it, then jack up the price for the later versions.



    :: sent from android with tapatalk ::