Reason 6

Discussion in 'Production' started by Catsel, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    im gunna buy Reason 6 when it comes out on 30th sept (after quick demo maybe) becos looks awesome.. loadz of shit to play wiv!

    anyone got a good reason why i shouldn't? maybe another program is better? i can;t be assed to download a hundred off demos of shit.

    your thoughts for a complete noob on subject.
     
  2. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Good reason why you shouldnt - cannot use vst's.
    good reason why you should - dunno, but I'm sure there are some....
     
  3. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    vst?

    i no nothing .....
     
  4. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    vst = plugin for most audio programs
    Reason doesnt use them.
    I like reason - found it the easiest to get making tunes straight away.

    There is no "perfect" or "best" music software - just which ever one you like to work with the most.
     
  5. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    does audio programs include hardware? keyboards or w/e .

    considering reason 6 has shit loadz of programs built in, maybe there isn't a reason to have these vst's???
     
  6. luciduk

    luciduk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    5
    VSTs are customized by companies such as native instruments, they arent limited in numbers (you can have 100 different VST compressors which sound slightly different when you use them) where as reasons compressors and synths are always going to sound the same. i love reason, its the most simple (for me) program to use, and the workflow is so quick you can bang out the basis of a good tune in a few hours.

    but yeah you dont have this VST edge if you get reason - which means you HAVE to use reasons own compressor, equalizer, reverb unit, chorus unit ETC. these are all good - ive been using them for years but they are seriously limited compared to VST units. if you want to go professional then its good advice to hold out for something VST capable.


    oh yeah and you can use hardware with reason yeah ;)

    ---------- Post added at 17:38 ---------- Previous post was at 15:52 ----------

    also WOW REASON 6 LOOKS AMAZINGNGG

    lol didnt even know it was here
     
  7. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    yea, reason 6 looks awesome! all the shit u need.

    but maybe it will never be as good as program thats VST compatable..

    hmmmmm i;ll try demo first.. see what its like..
     
  8. fapTILLyouCRAP

    fapTILLyouCRAP I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    dat Pulverizer thingy with Trash/Dirt options.... thats some sexy software me want
     
  9. luciduk

    luciduk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    5
    the new FX units in reason look so sexy
     
  10. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    for people who don't know..

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  11. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    I don't know much about Reason except that loads of people use it to make awesome stuff, but honestly, why haven't they made it capable of hosting third party plugs? Surely that would increase the appeal?!
     
  12. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    cos they reckon it would make the progam unstable..... (meh)
    they pride themselves on reliabilty - and to be fair its the ONLY software i have used that has never ever crashed on me.
    But yeah i do kinda miss being able to try all these new VST's at times.
    Though i am sure there are a hell of a lot of unstable VST's out there - dont need them in my life.
    i reckon in the next upgrade/release they will might finally include VST support - as they have been slated for years for not supporting them. (just my guess)
    Every new version they get a lot of stick on their forums for not including vst support.

    edit - you can re-wire reason into other DAWs that have VSTs
     
  13. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Performance wouldn't be as good is their explanation. Rewire makes up for it though, I look at Reason like a plug-in bundle in itself really. Although its better in the last few versions I don't rate the sequencer very much, and I think the mixers pretty poor, so I just use Reason for the instruments and then rewire it into Pro Tools for mixing.
     
  14. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    The fact that you cant use external vst's is a total deal breaker for me

    So you can use Rewire, but thats more expense. And dont you need another program if you want to record anything?

    Theres so many daw's out there these days that can do everything, so what makes Propellerheads think they cant get away with bullshit like that?
     
  15. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    you dont need all them vst's just get good with what youve got makes for a better producer in the end
     
  16. luciduk

    luciduk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    5
    how did you figure rewiring costs more?? the way i see it is reason as the most powerful plug-in. you can record and edit audio in reason 6.

    if you dont like it dont use it tho. it suits plenty of people, reason hardly ever crashed on me unless my windows vista fucked up.. and has a quicker work flow (for me) than any other DAW.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  17. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Totally agree with this statement.

    I dont even use Reason, but from what I've heard, the plugs that do come with it, are more than enough for any type of sound you could think of.

    When I was using FL, I used a shit load of different vst's. Now I'm on Ableton I've narrowed it doen to NI's Massive, and Rob Papen's Predator. Those two are all I need to be able to do anything.
     
  18. ONSLAUGHT88

    ONSLAUGHT88 I sees ya I do I sees ya

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,925
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    The Northernmost Point of Kent, UK
    Reason 6 looks great man, a lot of new features, but it's still so close to actually holding it's own.
     
  19. T:M

    T:M Dusty Techno Workout

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Everyone always gripes about how Reason doesn't support VSTs but you know what I want to see? Reason instruments and effects as third party plugs for whatever DAW you're running.

    Yes, I know you can rewire but that 1. Requires you already owning Reason a big expense and 2. Requires running an entire program just for the plugs you want to use.
     
  20. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,315
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    yea im 100% buying reason 6.... regardless of demo lol