Reason 4 echo question

Discussion in 'Production' started by duppymanDnB, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. duppymanDnB

    duppymanDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys I've been trying to figure out how to get a good echo on reason 4 without getting that annoying delay when you trigger the sample. As an example listen to the track posted. What I want is for beyonces voice to nicely trickle off in a natural sounding echo instead of that Drex loop sounding breath weirdness. I've tried the advanced sampler and screwing with the programer in it but I can't get it quite right. Thanks a lot guys! and gals!

    http://soundcloud.com/duppyman/ive-been-changed
     
  2. Nacon

    Nacon Vidual

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Estonia
    no clue about reason but i am 100% sure that, that's just use of subtle Reverb and that's all there is to it. the ammount of send might be automated though, not sure though.

    But maybe i'm listening to wrong things.
     
  3. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    yeah sounds like you want the rv700 reverb unit on that - there are plenty of pre made patchesfor the reverb unit just get one that sounds close and tweak.
     
  4. duppymanDnB

    duppymanDnB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I add a reverb there's a dely on the sample trigger. What I want is for the vocal sample to go AhhhahhhhAHHahahhh ahhahhhAHHHHAHAHHAhahahha ohhh i've been changed..changed...changed and have it fade while the 2nd part kicks in. instead of AhhhahhhhAHHahahhh ahhahhhAHHHHAHAHHAhahahha ohhh i've been changed *weird breath* *weird breath* ohh i've been changed. See what I mean? adding a reverb makes it sound full and live but it doesnt echo like I want it too.
     
  5. luciduk

    luciduk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    5
    make a seperate NNXT or NN19 with the sample starting just on the word "changed" and use that just for the section you want with the delay, and then line up the sample with a cleaner version??

    so you have ahhahhhAHHHHAHAHHAhahahha ohhh i've been changed changed changed ohhh i've been changed changed changed

    bold parts being the seperate sampler with a delay unit on??
     
  6. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    Automate the dry/wet on a delay line filter?
    Example :-
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  7. omowglio

    omowglio Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not 100% what your getting at but away for better reverb in reason is to use it as a send not a direct effect. instead of creating it attached to your instrument directly on the output, you right click your mixer and select which ever reverb best is the purple one cant remember what its called it will now be attached to one of the 4 sends which you have to turn up on the channel strip this will create a lushest reverb.

    duna if it helped u though but there u go
     
  8. ruksi

    ruksi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wicked City
    agree with omowglio - put either a delay line or rv7000 as a send effect off the main mixer
     
  9. Neomind

    Neomind Too many skulls!">:O

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    automating this way, it will still be adding some words you don't want to be in the delay.
    LucidUK is the cleanest way of doing it imo (and it's the way I do it... :p)
     
  10. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    Use the delay man, slgith bit of reverb on any vocal as standard

    But if you want the last word to trickle away gently use the delay unit, set the number to 8 and automate the dry / wet to come on when you want it