RCA Output Jacks

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by freeze, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. freeze

    freeze New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to buy one of these to record with this? http://www.htfr.com/more-info/MR222580 Correct? It wasn't included with the purchase. Probably a stupid question, but I want to be sure before I waste any more money on something I don't even need!
    Thanks.
     
  2. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Just need a phono (red and white cables at each end) cable mate. Out the record in the back of your mixer into your pc :)
     
  3. freeze

    freeze New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Got it all working now but the sound quality is pretty shocking! Is it anything to do with the software or mixer that's making it sound so bad? I'm using Audacity.
     
  4. Alexi

    Alexi Drench Audio

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol/Southampton
    too many things could cause this to guess, but make sure you haven't got the gain too high at any point, as this is the most common cause of distortion and poor audio quality
     
  5. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    it seems everyone has this problem with audacity. try total recorder, audacity is wank
     
  6. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    na its fine.... i think it gets a bad rep because its the first choice of noobs

    i cant you how cos i havent used it for years but there is a way to monitor the level of the input..... you just make sure its not in the red in it will record absolutely fine

    oh, another reason people keep recording to loud is because they are trying to record a line level signal thru the mic input
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
  8. Freek

    Freek Lets get freeeeeeky

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Also, what output on the mixer are you using? if you can, go from the booth out and then you can control the volume of the sound travelling into your pc and get levels right without having to adjust anythin in audacity.