Purely sampling to make music

Discussion in 'Production' started by muzzadj, Feb 20, 2013.

1. muzzadj

muzzadj POW!

I know this seems to be a pretty hot topic in the production forum these days. I've been back on the production for a few weeks now very on and off (been beating myself up alot about it all and giving up easily.) I have absolutely no VST's or anything im using i'm simply just using samples of sounds to make everything I do. I've far from finished a track, not even got to the drop on one yet but already can't help but feel im cheating. I've steered away from VST's for now as I no longer have a midi keyboard. Can I still use things such as FM8 without? Or am I doing OK for now just using samples? Please bear in mind i'm a massive beginner still right now trying to get to grips with any little process I can but seem to be drowning in information I feel I NEED to be taking in. So yeah, do I need a keyboard right now to use VST's and such? Or would you recommend I keep going the way I am for a while to get to grips with all the various processing of audio files?

Cheers!

2. Attire

Attire Last Winter

I don't know what DAW you are using but as far as I know you don't need a midi keyboard to use VST synths.
    Sampling isn't cheating, although it helps to manipulate the samples in weird and wonderful ways to get new and interesting sounds.

3. Hi-Def

Hi-Def Newbie

as far as im concerned sampling is what makes dnb what it is. Having said that im a beginner and i barely use any samples because im still getting to grips with everything, especially timestretching loops to make them fit. check out LSB's making of overthinking video for inspiration would post the link but im not allowed :S