Purely sampling to make music

muzzadj

VIP Junglist
I know this seems to be a pretty hot topic in the production forum these days. I've been back on the production for a few weeks now very on and off (been beating myself up alot about it all and giving up easily.) I have absolutely no VST's or anything im using i'm simply just using samples of sounds to make everything I do. I've far from finished a track, not even got to the drop on one yet but already can't help but feel im cheating. I've steered away from VST's for now as I no longer have a midi keyboard. Can I still use things such as FM8 without? Or am I doing OK for now just using samples? Please bear in mind i'm a massive beginner still right now trying to get to grips with any little process I can but seem to be drowning in information I feel I NEED to be taking in. So yeah, do I need a keyboard right now to use VST's and such? Or would you recommend I keep going the way I am for a while to get to grips with all the various processing of audio files?

Cheers!

I don't know what DAW you are using but as far as I know you don't need a midi keyboard to use VST synths.
Sampling isn't cheating, although it helps to manipulate the samples in weird and wonderful ways to get new and interesting sounds.

as far as im concerned sampling is what makes dnb what it is. Having said that im a beginner and i barely use any samples because im still getting to grips with everything, especially timestretching loops to make them fit. check out LSB's making of overthinking video for inspiration would post the link but im not allowed :S
and with most daws you wont need a midi keyboard as such, just click the notes into you sequencer, although for me i find this painstakingly slow without having a good knowledge of music theory. much quicker to play some notes and immediatedly be able to see what works and what dont.

you can use vsts as is, you dont need a keyboard. havent used mine in a while aswell..