PS3 Media Server - stream music/movies through your PS3 wirelessly

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Joey AdhD, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    http://www.ps3mediaserver.org/

    boss program, dont know of anyone uses this but it lets you stream all ya downloaded films and what not to your flat screen through ya PS3 wirelessly with no degradation and doesnt slow ya comp down at all, your PS3 uses your laptop/PC as a server and u can access all your files in the PS3 browser. even watch youtube and streams....

    piss easy to use too. enjoy
     
  2. greddie

    greddie Super Sir Loin

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,926
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Brighton
    "Thanks"
     
  3. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    eh?

    you can do this anyway. and you have to have your files in a place where you console can find them because it's a little sketchy, but i don't understand why you'd need this additional software
     
  4. Dagz

    Dagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    851
    ganna say ive been doing that for years on my ps3



    the question is how do u put movies from your memory stick to your XBOX360 ? I can play movies from the usb stick but not put them onto my xbox for storage ?
     
  5. DeeGun

    DeeGun Church of Krust

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14,151
    Likes Received:
    2,570
    Location:
    Full Cycle
    I (xbox360) use a usb stick for that :D

    ---------- Post added at 18:58 ---------- Previous post was at 18:57 ----------

    What kind of box do you have? How much memory?
     
  6. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    also, anyone been having trouble with their console crashing since the latest update?
     
  7. Dagz

    Dagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    851
    I have the old xbox360 with about 40gig to spare. There is no option to transfer files from my usb when i plug it into the xbox
     
  8. DeeGun

    DeeGun Church of Krust

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14,151
    Likes Received:
    2,570
    Location:
    Full Cycle
    Internal memory I guess? I have the new slim but basic, only 4gb and its the same, there is no option to do so..and I have still 3gb free which would be enuff for at least a couple of movies.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
  9. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    you might be able to do it, but i didnt know you could...it works really well for me, and if you could allready do it well well done you, some people maynot, like me.

    and you can go through your whole file system and play any-type of media using and media player or parameter, your playstation will only play ceratin files, the softwere lets you play the lot without sending your system into a halt...

    jus cos u have been doing it for years doesnt mean everyone else knows how to do it...thats all.
     
  10. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK

    i'm just saying it's a well known feature of the ps3's, not any kind of magical hackery, it's right there and plays all common media types.
     
  11. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,410
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    can you do this with an xbox 360 ?? ... if the answer is yes, can someone pleas explain in laymans terms to a complete spaz how .. do i jam the toast and toy car into the disc drive b4 or after ive flux capacitor

    ---------- Post added at 18:40 ---------- Previous post was at 18:37 ----------

    seriously tho .. i got this xbox - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003NSBMF8

    if i can link my external hardrive via usb , and play downloaded films .. its gunna be a fuckin happy crimbo
     
  12. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    http://support.xbox.com/en-GB/xbox-360/audio-video-setup-and-use/windows-media-center
     
  13. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,410
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    cheers, but as i said .. laymans terms ... im a shit cunt .. how do i get this media center thing from my pc to my xbox .. youll recieve the most positive rep ever if you help me sort this shieeiziiittt ... not that rep matters .. but i sure aint giving you another blowy

    ---------- Post added at 18:54 ---------- Previous post was at 18:51 ----------

    shit i had that zune thing .. deleted it off my comp .. what a briefcase wanker
     
  14. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    what version of windows do you have?
     
  15. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD

    I know it used to work on my old PS3 the chunky fucker however, since I've got the slim doesnt seem to let me connect anymore, I'm hopig this will sort the problem.

    Cheers Joey
     
  16. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    The zune thing was a shout from microsoft. I got a Zune HD and it works perfectly with the xbox.



    Ethix, you need to make sure your running windows media center edition, windows 7 or cunting vista.
    make sure the pc and xbox are on the same network, then:

    On your 360 go to Apps --> My Apps --> Windows Media Center.

    You'll be given a security key, write it down and go to your pc.

    Open Windows Media Center --> Tasks --> Add Extender. Whack in the setup key.


    Then on your 360 go to apps --> my apps --> media center. And select your PC, it'll then sort through all your porn and JLS tracks and show your shit on your 360.




    Alternatively you can use your external hard drive. Only catch is the files have to be in pretty specific formats. You can play H.264, MPEG4 and WMV files with extensions .mp4, .m4v, mp4v, .mov and .wmv. Also DivX and XviD files (.divx and .AVI) will work if you are on XBL as an update will download and let you play em.

    But basically, the long and short of it is, make sure you back up your external hard drive, right click it in my computer, format it to FAT32, put all your shit back on it and plug it in, should be detected no problem.
     
  17. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    what he said, which is basically what that link i gave you said.
     
  18. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,410
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    thanks man, ill download Zune HD then ...but, im running windows XP ... i take it this is a no go then ??? .. its not win 7 , or vista, and not windows media center edition.. just bog standard, windows xp service pack 3 ..

    ---------- Post added at 19:24 ---------- Previous post was at 19:22 ----------

    swafe :)

    ---------- Post added at 19:25 ---------- Previous post was at 19:24 ----------

    either that, or im being a think little cherub, told ya im not good at this jazz
     
  19. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,234
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    then pick yourself up an external hard drive and do it that way, no need for media server bizzles. or, if you've got one of dem there new fangled HDTV's likelyhood is it'll have a vga input, in which case you can plug you're pc into that and just watch all your shit from there. Or even better, if you've got one of them new fangled HD laptops with an HDMI out, you can plug that into your telly with awesome res.
     
  20. EWOKS

    EWOKS POTATOES GONNA POTATE

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,410
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    gheyness ... so , coz ive got XP .. basically im a shit cunt in xbox terms ..

    and yeah .. ive got an external hardrive old bean .. will try my luck thataway ... SWAFE

    ---------- Post added at 19:39 ---------- Previous post was at 19:36 ----------

    why do i have to formatt the badboy , and how does formatting make it detectable by my 360 ? .. im getting on this 2nite ,already moving all my external hd shiz to my 2tb drive ...

    ---------- Post added at 19:41 ---------- Previous post was at 19:39 ----------

    also, last but not least ... how the mary friggin josef fritz do i control my external HD , with my xbox controller ?? ... or will all come clear in due time ? ... you guysh better not be pullin me plonka .. or im telling herb dean