Drum & Bass producing for a newbie

Discussion in 'Production' started by zeen, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. zeen

    zeen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been listening to drum and bass now for a good few years now and am looking into start trying out producing for myself. I am just wondering if anyone could help me out and give me any advice on what equipment i need to get me started off i.e.
    • What lap top to buy
    • What software is easiest to start off on
    • What sort off speakers to get
    • And any other equipment i mite need

      And any other advice you have would be much appreciated.
     
  2. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
  3. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil


    • I use a Dell Inspiron 15R SE (I bought it for gaming, but it is serving me well for music productions).

      The DAW you need to choose is up to you. All of them are the same when it comes to sound quality. Try the ones that fits on your budget (all of them have trial versions) and see the one that you have the best workflow. There are, also, some free DAWs out there. I personally use FL Studio for my productions. I tried Ableton and Reason, but couldn't get the hang of them.

      I don't have the money or the space to buy monitors, so I rely on my Beyerdynamics 880DT Pro. They are pretty good headphones. This subject is also somewhat controversial, as headphones cannot give you the flat sound you get on monitors, but this are things you can overcome with time and experience.

      About the other equipment, maybe a midi controller would be good, to start off. I don't use one myself, but I will buy one as soon as I get some spare money.

      I hope I helped.
     
  4. MisterApe

    MisterApe 8bit junkie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Fortress Europa
    Honestly, FL might be the easiest to start out with.
    I use Cubase 7 myself, but it's not the easiest DAW to learn.

    Also, get a computer with the most powerful CPU you can get your hands on.
    Preferably something with a quadcore i7 with hyperthreading!
     
  5. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
  6. Psychs420

    Psychs420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Forsure you want something with at least an I5 core man you wanna be able to run the baby for hours without slowing your comp down.honestly if you ask people what daw to use your not gonn get that 1 answer man itd be best if you try em all out,but imma still throw my choice out there,ableton.DAWs are more like a kitchen and your samples,vsts,loops etc and things like that are your foods.NEVER ever try going with a DAW just because another artists uses it man best advice youll ever get,
     
    Dark Lizardro likes this.
  7. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    This. Companies sponsor some artists, and those artists will always say "this DAW is better than any other". They need to sell (both companies and artists), and will do anything to make YOU buy their product.

    "Trash is essential to our sound." —Noisia -> this was taken from the iZotope Trash 2 page. It means this: you wanna make sounds similar to Noisia? Only Trash will provide the sound you want. But you'll have to pay $249 USD to achieve this sound.
     
  8. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    I'd personally start with Ableton, get a free trial and see how you feel. I wish Id never lernt Logic now lol!
     
  9. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    just use FL Studio, and pay no attention to the sample window, breaks are easy to program, on a drum machine they are just

    [​IMG]

    if you want modulator effects and echo`s etc to be in sync with some like, you set the timing to 1/8

    [​IMG]

    then when image line get around to doing it, events graphs will be like

    [​IMG]

    and not the , 1 mistake and you have to delete the whole channel rubbish

    [​IMG]
     
  10. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    I started on Fl. Great program. I was considering switching back from Logic until I saw logic x. Get logic. X mane. It looks easy to learn. There are 2 modes as well
     
  11. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    logik and all the others are for people who use sample cd`s, and not beat slicers
     
  12. jimjimjim

    jimjimjim oldskool

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Slough UK
    what?
    man u do talk a load of rubbish.

    Back on topic.
    Download demo's of all the main DAWs and see which one you like - then choose that one.
     
  13. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Dude, you're trolling on that other thread on this forum, and getting very negative responses. Please, let's keep this thread as legit as possible, so our friend zeen can choose the way he want to start producing, based on our personal experiences.
     
  14. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    they are tards of london who have spent 10 years crying about kool fm and funky flirt being aload of cum sippers



     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  15. underspawn

    underspawn Headz Roll

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,325
    Likes Received:
    167
    you can always turn the edit events window into an automation clip man
     
  16. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    they should still get around to cleaning the event graphs up, automation clips are not precise to the bar if your a "real" musician, even if you zoom all the way in on the playlist

    all of the grids in the playlist, piano roll, and events, are reprezenting bars with the bright lines, and steps with the dimmer bars

    then you have aload of "real" musicians talking about mach 5 in the demo`s, and they would cry if you just have to delete a whole channel, because you clicked on the wrong pixel while drawing you event graph
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  17. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    That's why you have the CTRL+Z or CTRL+ALT+Z commands.
     
  18. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    but having "parametric" drawing like gross beat, is more professional, alot easier and better to look at

    there is no point having it in automation clips, and not the main event editor
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  19. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    what if I tell you, I use FL Studio, I use Gross Beat sometimes, and STILL I use automation for some Gross Beat parameters?
     
  20. DNBA SUCKZ

    DNBA SUCKZ I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    17
    alot of people use FL Studio, but one day when imageline get around to cleaning up the event graphs, which should be a priority

    you will be drawing this rubbish, the same way as you doing the gross beat graph, and it will look like a "parametric" graph too

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]