Problem with ultra sub bass on Technics 1210's

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by wotnwhy, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. wotnwhy

    wotnwhy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i have a set of Technics 1210's and have noticed that the woofers in my speakers are flapping about like there's no tomorrow... I'm talking about maximum excursion at a slow rate.

    At first i thought it may be a feedback issue as the speakers are close to the decks, but it happens even with the silence before a track starts, so it can't be that...

    What is causing the speakers to do this and how do i remedy it?? I do not want to blow up any expensive systems... lol!
     
  2. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are you earthed?
     
  3. wotnwhy

    wotnwhy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The earth wires are wired to the mixer. How can i check they're all ok inside the decks?
     
  4. wotnwhy

    wotnwhy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW i should probably emphasize that it's only one the needle is on the record what this happens
     
  5. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    Are you using the right line in? Also have your speakers ever worked normally on this set up?
     
  6. wotnwhy

    wotnwhy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have a Vestax PMC mixer and the decks going into the phono input (the choice is phono or line).

    I have tried different speakers and the problem persists. Have no other amp to eliminate that, but other inputs don't do this.

    I've noticed when recording that the left stereo channel is quieter on this deck also..
     
  7. J.M.

    J.M. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    make sure that you have the digital/analog button/switch on analog.