Problem EQ synth

Discussion in 'Production' started by turbo46, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, i have a lot of problems to setup and equalizing all kinds of synths or pads, i tried to cut through low/high shelf HP/LP but the sound still sound really muddy, what can i do? ;(
     
  2. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    do they sound muddy solo. or are we talking in the mix?
     
  3. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah right, i mean solo
     
  4. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    How many oscillators, layers? It just sounds like their too busy or theirs too much going on. If they sound muddy before processing or in the mix. They'll sound horrible after. Do you have an example you can upload?
     
  5. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    Sounds like two synths sharing the same frequency.

    - - - Updated - - -

    A long release and reverb thats uncontrolled will muddy it up too.
     
  7. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a pad, why the sound is so lo-fi? I've wanted a long release for atmosphere, but i've the same problem in all leads, i can't eq very well the sound. We have to check how the sound is in the mix but every time the same crap sound ;(

    P.S. I've listened some your songs, really like Lapse mixing, that level would be great.
     
  8. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    If you can't get it as bright as you like it out of the synth (i suggest keep trying) run it through a bus, drop an eq, low cut to about 5 kHz, ad a reverb, turn down the decay, set the wetness to about 75%. Reverbing the highs can add a lot of shine. also, 12khz might be too much to cut off if you want some brightness.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Theres a ton of widening techniques you could use too. Thats also whats giving it that "lofi" sound. . . . .it sounds mono.
     
  9. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok but through Sylenth or Nexus without bouncing, how can i know if the sound is mono or stereo in Logic 9?.........checking right now i've duplicated the synth track, panned L/R is a good feeling ;)
     
  10. Mania

    Mania i fukin wot m8

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria, AUS
    The inspector will show you how many channels there are; 1 being mono and 2 being stereo.
    To check the stereo spectrum of a sound, go to 'Metering' and insert a Multi Meter. Then select the 'goniometer'.

    This meter shows the stereo with and placement of the fed signal. The correlation meter below it shows the phase correlation of the signal.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    Dont do that with the low end though. . . . . . .Make 3 duplicates. One with a high cut at about 120-200hz keep it mono. and the other two low cut at 150-250hz. then spread them. also automate the cutoff on both of those in different ways. just a little bit. That adds a ton of movement and width
     
  12. turbo46

    turbo46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The inspector says stereo right, L/R go up but i mean how can i know if the synth is mono and midi channel split in two channel. The pad have uploaded is stereo......... Guys thank you ;)