Presonus - Studio One (NEW DAW)

Discussion in 'Production' started by Mango-, May 8, 2010.

  1. Mango-

    Mango- Mercury Eater

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    I am about to try this new DAW, has anyone tried it?
    I have never heard of it before
    http://www.presonus.com/products/SoftwareDetail.aspx?SoftwareId=11

    ---------- Post added 08-05-2010 at 00:15 ---------- Previous post was 07-05-2010 at 23:44 ----------

    Its really good actually just been trying it, took forever to download a demo copy,
    Activation and registering and codes and emails.
    Just for Demo :eek:
     
  2. Mango-

    Mango- Mercury Eater

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    Noone Interested :(
     
  3. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Think this was in SOS the other month, let us know how you get on!
     
  4. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    I gave it a try at v1.0, promising but just lacked in feel and workflow for me.
     
  5. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    gonna get the demo now!
     
  6. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    From it's screenshots it looks quite nice. Like a swanky version of cubase.
     
  7. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    hmm, trying it now and im not overly keen on it, call me a noob but i just prefer the aesthetics of reason. still gonna plough thru and try making something in the demo and get used to it.
     
  8. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Think it supports Re-wire, so you can hook reason up through it and have the best of both. Not sure if the demo version allows it mind...?
     
  9. Thin and crispy

    Thin and crispy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    yer it does! and the dem does allow it. its deffiantly ALOT better for samples having the waveform n everything rather than a little line which u can only crop backwards, lol

    ( unless ive been doing something wrong ;p )
     
  10. Mango-

    Mango- Mercury Eater

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    I think it has a nice feel to it, I have to say I personally find it very easy to use.
    I prefer it to Reaper and Podium; which I have been looking into recently.
    But I suppose there is a big price difference.
    I like that fact it comes with plugins, I especially like "Sample One", which is a pretty cool multi-sampler.(Very easy to use)
    When I used Reaper, being the first DAW I had used properly, I couldn't figure out how to sample.
    Studio one was simple and intuitive.

    Rewire works well with Reason 4.
    Effects were easy to use, using the mixer.
    Haven't tried midi keyboard yet, will try soon.

    keeping in mind this is Version 1.5, I was very impressed.
    I just wonder with all the competition, can they really compete.
     
  11. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    it's pretty good.
    The sound quality is right up there..
    The ProEQ is very good at what it does as is the built in reverb effect.

    Mastering is great and well worth the effort.
    I found my tunes have gotten more detailed and layered since using S1 over Reason.
    Just trying to find a way of sequencing drums in S1 like in Reason (so easy in reason!!)

    Here's a ton of instructional vids to help you get the best out of it:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/presonusaudio
     
  12. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Get them Re-wired up together (y)