please help..

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by ANILE, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. ANILE

    ANILE Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London, Kent
    Have got around £700 - £800 to buy a new pc tower for starting production... have been looking around at the Dells etc.. have brought version 4 reason, 620 active monitors and a sound phile card... please help to advise on what towers are goood!!! thankyou:confused:
     
  2. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    you better off building ur own bro, you will save some £'s too.

    Think there is a thread on prod forum about what is good to have in the tower! ;)
     
  3. second opinion

    second opinion bacon sarnies hmmmm

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashford kent
    all about processor power and ram to be honest 2 gig of ram will do ya and just the beastiest processor you an get and you will be alright, oh yeah a fast hard drive as well so you dont get a bottleneck of samples in ya projects
     
  4. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    nah mate. go for 3gbs of ram and a slightly cheaper processor. It *used* to be all about processor power, but now most processors are powerful enough, and the less pages are switched around the memory the better. A dual core 2.4ghz + 3gb of ram will be fine, if you can get a quad core then go for that. Agree with the fast HDD, but a 500gb 7200rpm should suffice.
     
  5. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    na man im the other way round, better CPU less RAM

    i ony have 2 Gig ram atm, i DO need to buy another 2 though really then ill be set

    but my CPU is a beast!!
     
  6. second opinion

    second opinion bacon sarnies hmmmm

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashford kent
    im running dual core with 4 gb of ram but that on me upgrade had 2 gig on first comp but if you get the most you can then you wont need to upgrade as soon.
    heard you can get 8 gig sticks now my god i want. you be able to run 25 massives on that
     
  7. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    yeah i got one of the 2ram ddr things so its like double init?

    not sure im shite with pcs hahah

    i want another 2 anyways
     
  8. ANILE

    ANILE Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London, Kent
    thanks for replys guys...

    So far basically i have fund this please give some feedback to what you guys think...

    Intel Q6600 Processor
    (2.4 GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 8MB)
    4GB Memory
    1TB hard drive
    Onboard LAN
    AM Memory = 4000mb
    Hard disc capacity= 1000Gb
    22" Glass widescrean monitor TFT
    VISTA
    512MB nVidia GeForce 9600GT Graphics
    4x USB cONNECTIONS
    Sound Card= 7.1 High def audio (although have a sound phile)



    All opions needed please as im thinking of investing next week for this bad man
     
  9. ANILE

    ANILE Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London, Kent
  10. Reference

    Reference fair shout.

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aldershot
    if you can afford it, your sorted (y)
     
  11. ANILE

    ANILE Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London, Kent
    yeaaaaaaaaaah roooy!!! guna go get it now me thinks!!!!
     
  12. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Nice.. Would just advise getting a dual, if not quad core processor, and make sure your hard drive is SATA (will be pricey for 1tb) but that means making sure u get a motherboard with SATA..

    Oh and with the 512MB nVidia GeForce 9600GT Graphics... Its fucking HUGE! make sure you get a big case if you are buying it as parts!

    Check out http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/ .. They will sort you out and cheap as chips!