Please HELP! MacBook Pro with 15-inch Retina Display: which one should I buy??

Discussion in 'Production' started by Viccc, May 19, 2015.

1. Viccc

Viccc New Member

As an aspiring music producer, I decided to buy a MacBook Pro with 15-inch Retina Display (since it’s the only MacBook with 16GB RAM), but I see there are two models. The differences between them are:

1) The processor (but I don’t think the user would be able to perceive any difference in speed because of this, do you agree??

2) Storage: 256GB versus 512GB (!!)

I think storage is the only significant difference. But the option with more capacity is way more expensive.

Since I don’t think 256GB is enough to manage my music, should I buy the 256GB option and also buy an external drive, or do you think the 512GB option is worth the price?

Will I have any potential risks with an external drive? (I never used MacBook before).

Thank you so much!

2. RUSSLA

RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

Started using Kontakt recently and it fully advises using an external for the samples so yeh, keep all your samples on an external (plus a backup hhd) and you'll be sweet (y)

3. Strobys

Strobys Member

I aggree on the external hard drive... By the way, if u buy one, be sure u buy one that doesn't need an electric plug! Just take a usb hard drive, much easier to work with :)

4. Dark Lizardro

Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

IMO, don't buy a over priced computer just because it has a bitten apple as it's logo.

5. Strobys

Strobys Member

^yup, if u can build your own computer (there are plenty of tutorials how to do it), you can have yourself a really legit computer for about 700-900€. Only disadvantage is: u cant go on location to dj with it :3

Edit (external harddrive already included in price)

6. Gloxxy

Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

I think the reason for him getting a laptop is portability while making music.