Planning a mix....

iamdjsimm

VIP Junglist
....Something I've never done before. I always do my mixes on the fly.

I'm doing a 15 years of DJ Simm mix though which basically involves 2 tunes from every year I've been DJ'ing (1996 to current. Although my collection dates back to 1990 it doesn't fit in with my 15 years of DJ'ing theme)

Picking 2 tunes from each year is proving seriously hard work as the levels of quality to choose from are just too high!!!

Try picking 2 stand out tunes from 2011 for example (without choosing Marka).

This whole process has made me glad I don't plan all my mixes in advance. I'd just tear my hair out (or what's left of it)!!

if I had to pick 2 stand out tunes from 2011, they would be Icicle & Commix - Ultraclean + Hazard - Food Fight

2 good choices there to be fair!

I know one of my 2010 tracks will be ulterior motives 2098.

One of my 2011's will probably be dub phizix shakedown. I can't get enough of that tune still.

i tried doing something similar to this.
its really tough, you want your first choices of tunes but you want some cracking mixes too.
hard to find the right balance. good luck man, send it to me when youve finished it, be interested to hear it.

i tried doing something similar to this.
its really tough, you want your first choices of tunes but you want some cracking mixes too.
hard to find the right balance. good luck man, send it to me when youve finished it, be interested to hear it.

It's a tough one!! Link will be up on here once it's done.

Hardest bit is trying not to include 12 dillinja tunes from when he was good!! I'm trying to spread the styles / producers as well so to speak.

I think the tracklist is ready.

Well I've selected 30 tracks anyway.

I'll keep the details hush till the mix is done. I like to think over the years it represents my style well

Mate i never plan a mix but an idea to your concept would be part 1 / part 2 / part 3 etc ;)