Pissing computer won't start

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Phat_Sam, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    No beep and nothing comes up on the monitor. CD & DVD trays work. All fans run but nothing else happens. Monitor is definitely working. Just taken the whole thing apart and put it back together. Please please please let it not be a fault with the MOBO...

    Any ideas?

    PS... I'm hoping for a good thread title change here
     
  2. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    You got a pci-e or AGP graphics card in there?

    If so take it out and use motherboards VGA out.

    What happened in the lead up to it? Putting pc under stress? Or any knocks?
     
  3. danwell

    danwell BAAAAAAAAAAAAABE WAIT

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    711
    gutted. too much playing the sims
     
    Borf™ and Hombre-J like this.
  4. IV4

    IV4 Currently a newt.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    If it does not work how are you using the forum?
     
  5. Hombre-J

    Hombre-J Currently Ballsacked

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    I assume via phone, granddad :teeth:
     
    Borf™ and danwell like this.
  6. bongobongo

    bongobongo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yea sounds like a gfx card failure try a spare one or use the mobo port if you were using a seperate card if it still doesn't work almost certainly motherboard failure
     
  7. Phat_Sam

    Phat_Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    The Cupboard Under The Stairs
    Checked all above, mobo failure I think.

    @forau nothing really mate. Not sure what happened. I moved flats recently and it could have taken a knock then? Come to think of it I don't think it's worked since then?

    I'm normally on my laptop but with all the new games that need some heavy lifting are coming out, I thought it might be an idea to get it up and running to see how I can upgrade.
     
  8. IV4

    IV4 Currently a newt.

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,158
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Tell me this sonny boy? Hows the operator going to connect the phone to the interwebs? Magic?..........Cut your hair!
     
  9. $marty

    $marty Dexcell Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18,688
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Location:
    Watford
    Via WAP enabled browsering of course!
     
    Hombre-J likes this.
  10. bongobongo

    bongobongo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    23
    Could try to reset the bios usually turn it on without the watch battery plugged in to reset it. Motherboard failure is pretty common .
     
  11. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,320
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    did you try turning it off and on again?
     
    Borf™ and tewky1 like this.
  12. tewky1

    tewky1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    288
    You never told us you worked in IT
     
  13. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,320
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    no no, its just a hobby of mine.
     
  14. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,045
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Canada
    It could be a ram failure too, if you have more than one stick try one at a time. If neither works try and get some spare off a mate. As even the bios needs some ram to load into on boot, if there's none available nothing will show.
     
  15. herojuana

    herojuana hairy kuala

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    948
    Location:
    London/Sheffield
    Yeah good point Harrold. If the RAM in the first slot is buggered it doesn't even bother checking any of the other slots so just give them the old switcheroo
     
  16. Catsel

    Catsel Well-Known Dismember

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    16,320
    Likes Received:
    2,085
    yea, Ram's fucked.

    [​IMG]
     
    Forau and Elzerk like this.
  17. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    PIIIISS! FROM MY ASSS!111
     
  18. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    RAM failure would usually give you a beep code or some kind of bios or stop error.

    Money still on graphics. Did you use motherboards vga instead of graphics card?
     
  19. Hombre-J

    Hombre-J Currently Ballsacked

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    524
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Have you plugged it in? Is it an actual computer, or just a tape recorder?

    Have you even been far as decided to use even go want to do more look like?
     
  20. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    ok but ok so wait check his out its even more better, c64 tape -> tape cassete player stereo, llllllllllooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuuuuddddddddddddddddd