Pearsall - Squat Rocking 8: The Darkside (Nasty mid-90's Techstep selection)


For the 8th edition of my Squat Rocking series of mixes dedicated to the sound of the UK free/squat party scene, I decided to shake things up a little. The previous instalments have covered the core sounds of the scene: acid techno/trance and hard techno, but with this mix I wanted to tip my hat to dark drum n' bass, a crucial element of the free party scene back when I was a regular attendee in the late 90's/early 00's. The drum n' bass dj's on the free party scene regularly aired some of the nastiest, filthiest, most gruesome tunes ... perfect sounds for stomping about to in a gloomy warehouse! I've tried very hard to capture that vibe in this mix, which covers 15 of some of the most no-holds barred techstep bangers in my collection. Enjoy!
Pearsall presents Squat Rocking 8: The Darkside

Mixed in Berlin, December 2016
100% Vinyl
(48:31, 111 mb, 320 KBPS MP3)


01. Goldie - Manslaughter (Grooverider Proto 96) (Reinforced)
02. Adam F - Jaxx (F-Jams)
03. Boymerang - Blue Notes (Volume)
04. Jonny L - Wish U Had Something (Jonny L Remix) (XL Recordings)
05. Moving Fusion - Turbulence (Ram)
06. The Pedge - What's Up Partner? (Penny Black)
07. Decoder - Dazee Age (Ruffneck Ting)
08. Zenith - Damaged (Frontline)
09. Embee - Secrets (Fuze)
10. Acetate - Noir (Flex)
11. The Advocate - Mens Rea (Criminal Communications)
12. Chaos & Julia Set - Learn To Fight (Dylan Remix) (Universal Language)
13. Peshay - Predator (Metalheadz)
14. Decoder - Fog (Hard Leaders)
15. Dom & Roland - Mechanics (31 Records)