Pc -VS- Mac ?

Discussion in 'Production' started by jsudderth, May 28, 2006.

  1. jsudderth

    jsudderth New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thinking about switching over to Mac cause I love Logic and this old version I got for my PC just isn't doing it for me. So I'm thinking of either sticking with my PC and getting CuBase or getting a g5. Which think?
     
  2. Marc:L

    Marc:L Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht, Holland
    Apple. I also switched to logic pro 7 and I just love it! Logic pro 7 has Apple loops! What it does is : it strechtes your sample to the speed of your production! No matter how fast or slow it is! Thats just great! And you can convert every sample to a Apple loop! So apple!!
     
  3. Brother Joe

    Brother Joe ERANU!

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    really want to get logic pro 7, I watched the demo on the Apple site and the things you can do with it just looks absoloutley amazing. Only problem is the price tag!
     
  4. Marc:L

    Marc:L Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht, Holland
    I bought my version 2nd handed for only 500 euro's (app.340 ponds... I think...)! It was an complete version. It's expensive but it is worth it.
     
  5. sook

    sook Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having used both i prefer pcs and Nuendo.
    BUT THAT SAID
    The mac vs pc argument is basically bullshit
    great tunes are made on both and in the end
    a sequencer is just a sequencer, its just how well
    you know it and how well you use it.
    Whats the pc like you have now? more
    importantly what sound card you using? is it mac
    compatable?
    unless money isnt an issue why not get nuenndo 3
    and the money you save on the new mac and soundcard
    you can spend on decent plugs or hardware.
    new mac $2000 + logic $1000 + new soundcard $1000
    plus some plugs for logic $1000 (those are australian dollars)
    thats $4000 (AU) you could upgrade your current studio with. i know which way i would go.
     
  6. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    both suck. i make my shit in a guitar
     
  7. edwardsruss

    edwardsruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    mac because it doesn't crash making you lose all your work.
     
  8. soundwaveuk

    soundwaveuk SoundwaveUK

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aldershot
  9. sook

    sook Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0

    ..............thats a load of crap
    if you use your pc only for production
    dont use the intaweb with it and dont get
    it filled up with nasty viruses its not going to crash

    plus save your work constantly because worse then
    crashing is when you personally fuck up a nice
    sounding track and cant go back to a previous copy
    cause you havent saved it.......... and that happens
    on macs to
     
  10. bbjohnson420

    bbjohnson420 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsyltuckey
    <--- Is currently testing running Mac on his pc via vmware... If all works out.. I get the best of both worlds. all on the same pc... Anyone try this yet?
     
  11. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    never heard of. guitar!!
     
  12. sook

    sook Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is what i use now..........


    [​IMG]
     
  13. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    holy crap dude! can you play noisia on it??
     
  14. Dj_Fozzybear

    Dj_Fozzybear Greenpiece Records

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    yup good ole ctrl + S!!!
    and saving many copies of the same project each time you do something different.
    Also, crashing has a lot to do with you hard rive reading times and if your computer (PC or Mac) has to search for the parts of your track in loadsa different places it makes it slow down A LOT and crash.
     
  15. edwardsruss

    edwardsruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    you carry on with your pc then buddy. windows never fucks up does it... :dynamite:
     
  16. sook

    sook Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0

    actually no it doesnt
    i use my pc only for music
    so no blue screens of death
    i have a seperate pc for gaming and net...

    the music comes from inside you...
    not that box sitting on your desk....

    i love macs and i love pcs
    i use pc because its what im familarwith
    they are both excellent machines
    the mac vs pc argument is pointless
    but im not going to sit by while ppl
    criticse pc for no good reason...
     
  17. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Precisely my friend...

    Porn and producing may be fun but you will certainly crash your computer and may jeopardize your work.
     
  18. Dj_Fozzybear

    Dj_Fozzybear Greenpiece Records

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    OOOOOH!!!! Jeez!!!
    Pick up ya dollies and teddy bears, put em back in ya pram and stroll on back to bananadrama!!!:teeth::finger:
     
  19. edwardsruss

    edwardsruss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    no need for that is there? just speaking from personal experience.

    and you can't get logic on pc anymore....
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2006
  20. Affliction

    Affliction thought size didnt matter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    That's the only post in this thread worth reading (y)