PC help

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by rysk, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    seem to have royally fucked my system....somehow.

    dunno what's going on, but windows is being generally unresponsive and crashing, programmes crashing as soon as they try and do anything, nothing happening when ctrl+alt+del, start bar search function not working, control panel greets me with a blank window, can't system restore.
    Any ideas? tried running a virus scan, but that just crashes my system.
    runs fine in safe mode.



    Also general IT support thread, could be useful
     
  2. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    sounds like a system restore is in order. Is it a laptop? What make?
     
  3. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    tried a system restore but just says that no restore points have been set.

    yeah, acer aspire 5734z
     
  4. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    You shouldn't watch so much porn and click on all those pop ups mate. We all been there mate...more cum than you know what to do with and all that. Give it a good wipe.



    Also F10 will be your friend...
     
  5. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    with a laptop its piss easy.

    according to google, for acer hold alt + f10 while its booting. it should go to Acer "eRecovery", then select full system restore and itll do the rest.
     
  6. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    is this gonna restore my system to factory settings? because i don't have a back-up of all my files or a way to do so right now.
     
  7. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    yes

    but it sounds like thats all you can do. If you cant even open windows and shit how do you expect to back up files?

    shouldve kept backups before this mang ;)

    /patronising cunt

    edit: just read it works in safe mode, so yeah, backup your important shit (not the whole thing obviously), then do a factory reset.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012
  8. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK

    alt + f10 does fuck all, but i can open e-recovery from start bar.


    byebye data, was nice knowing you.
     
  9. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    You need to select F10 just after you've switched it on and before you reach the log in screen mate. That's if what you just mentioned doesn't work.
     
  10. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    tried
     
  11. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    it wont affect the data, your files will still be there. if not, delete system32.dll (or was it kernel32.dll) then profit.
     
  12. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    GODDAMNIT!
    in order to back-up my system, i need 3 blaNK DVD's. I DON'T HAVE 3 BLANK DVD'S!
     
  13. Smickus

    Smickus Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    London
    there's a common virus in microsoft's operating system, it actually roots itself inside the "WINDOWS" folder and creates a new folder called system32... if you find this folder DO NOT WORRY! It can be easily deleted... just select it and press shift + delete, click okay... restart your computer, and boom! virus all gone.
    you can pick up an external hard drive pretty cheap these days...
     
  14. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    it differs depending on the brand of laptop, seems Acer is Alt + F10, usually just boot up the laptop and immediately hold down the buttons for ages until something happens.

    ahmed go out and buy 3 blank DVDs? Theyre like.. £2 :D

    ---------- Post added at 13:08 ---------- Previous post was at 13:07 ----------

    and you dont want to back up your whole system.. because somewhere theres a virus fucking things up and all youll do is put it back lol
     
  15. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    nice try
     
  16. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London


    I've done it several times with an Acer but never had to press 'alt' before.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2015
  17. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    so if i do this erecrovery, will it delete the OS, or will it just wipe all my files? Because i don't have a windows disc.
     
  18. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    I'm starting to feel slightly trolled armed...
     
  19. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    itll reinstall windows, in the process deleting all your files.

    hence "factory reset", itll look like what it did when it was new.
     
  20. kenyon

    kenyon @ The Crack Spot

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    West London
    buy a Mac, hope that helped