panning

Discussion in 'Production' started by boobjunkie, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. boobjunkie

    boobjunkie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    SW LDN
    any tricks/tips? recently i've been getting some nice sounds using a stereo spreader on my drums bus
     
  2. djdevz

    djdevz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London
    imagine a real drum kit..

    pan the hi hats a lil too the left,
    any toms a lil to the right.
    cymbals to the left/right

    kicks/snares stay centre

    gives you more room in terms of frequencies and gives u an authentic feel to your drums!

    and for an amazing fantastic tip: pan ur bass all the way to the left! its amazing!!
     
  3. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Dont.

    But you can create a lot of space with everything else too. Ever hear that travelling delay? Pan your synth right and adjust the delay to the left. Same with verbs, creates a lot more space to it.

    Vocals sounding bland? Pan them to the right a bit and add another layer with chorus to the left.

    Want more movement to the LFO'd riser before the drop? Make 2 of them with different LFO phase and hard pan them left and right.

    A Bass to surround you? Make a highpassed layer of it, duplicate, pan 25%L & 25%R, flanger left and LFO filter on the right.

    It's like a 3rd dimension to the music in addition to frequency and level.

    ---------- Post added at 05:34 ---------- Previous post was at 05:32 ----------

    Also be careful with the stereo expanders, some of them introduce a stereo offset to the sound (delaying the other side slightly) that makes it sound phat but it might introduce stereo phasing trouble, like making the punch of a kick disappear.
     
  4. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Cool, gotta figure out how to make the effects go to a separate side now lol
     
  5. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    just edit in audition mane.
     
  6. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    If you are using Ableton, then you could duplicate the channel you want to effect and put a Utility effect on each channel
    Then pan to one side using utility and effect accordingly, you could use utility again on the duplicate channel and pan to the other side and effect differently
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    ah ok cool, im on logic so automation sounds like the best bet, or thinking about it i might be able to do it in the plugin, will investigate
     
  8. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    yeah im sure logic has something similar