organizing samples

Discussion in 'Production' started by Tracedubs, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. Tracedubs

    Tracedubs PAISTYBOY

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically i've got a ridiculous amount of samples on my computer and the only way of looking through them is just going into finder and scrolling through hundreds of random folders.

    Does anyone know of any programs that I could use to organize my samples in a slightly less random manner, that can also preview the samples?
     
  2. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    In most DAW programs you can preview the samples. Don't know what software you use?
     
  3. bite and gouge

    bite and gouge Lee Fury & JtB

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucester UK
    I used to have a random program for this but the amount of effort taken to organize meant less time for writing. Ableton has an awesome file browser and the workspace in Pro tools is decent too, that allows you too preview different stretching methods on the fly. But both require you to be organized first. To keep things simple, I like to separate bought samples to my own created. Plus for all things Reason/Recycle, I like to create a Propellerheads library which contains all the reason files... rex2, refills, patches, etc. As we have more than one machine to maintain, it just makes it easier to update. Can't really help on the specific program though bud.

    Peace
     
  4. Cat Gas

    Cat Gas Aka Basis

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,118
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    London / Leeds
    A problem I find infuriating with ableton is that if you rename or move a folder, it won't detect it again in a tune you've used a sample from that folder in, so what happens is that you have to search through and locate the samples one by one...
     
  5. bite and gouge

    bite and gouge Lee Fury & JtB

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gloucester UK
    Fair enough, I don't remember having an issue like that but then I will usually leave my samples in one location and then do a collect all and save off the file menu. That will gather all the files used and duplicate them into the session folder... all tidy for moving. I thought Ableton had an auto find function but I may be getting that confused with Pro Tools. Hope that helps?

    Peace
     
  6. Tracedubs

    Tracedubs PAISTYBOY

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm using logic , but its an effort to acually get all the samples in there
     
  7. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    when i use logic it saves all of the samples i use as new files in the project folder for the track.
     
  8. T Leaf

    T Leaf Neighbourhood Sickhead

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1
    do it gradually man, folder them up yourself over time. its like housekeeping. someones gotta do it hehe. I got the odd straggling sample but im pretty tucked away now
     
  9. Tracedubs

    Tracedubs PAISTYBOY

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah might as well, its not causing any serious probems of yet.
    finders actually surprisingly usefull on the mac for finding samples acually
     
  10. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    How are you going about finding samples tho? You using the Media brower in the top right of the screen? I think this where you're going wrong.. You can look through your whole computer from here and preview them by pressing space bar (y)
     
  11. Warlokk

    Warlokk bitch please

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    I'm just ridiculously organised with every file.. it helps with sample packs like vengeance etc when they're already split into folders (soft kicks, hard kicks, snares, etc) but with my breaks and stuff I organise them by BPM and suitability to a genre, my sound FX's by what kind of FX they are, etc. In terms of previewing the sample, if the DAW i'm using doesn't have a built-in preview or I just don't like using it (reaper, for example) then I'll go through all my sounds in something like recycle until I find the one I want then I'll just click & drag it into reaper straight from the recycle browse menu.
     
  12. Freek

    Freek Lets get freeeeeeky

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    i just organise samples into catagories ie, dnb, dubstep, hip hop, house, classical etc.. then into sub catagory ie, drum & breaks, individual hits, sound fx, rise, drops. no software tho.
     
  13. Innovine

    Innovine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sweden
    The most important rule is this:
    Delete everything that is crap.

    If you've downloaded some sample CD and its a load of bollox, then dont leave it hanging around, thinking that it might be useful some day. It wont be. Crap is crap, and it'll only cause problems like the confusion you are having. Save the best two or three samples from it into a neat structure, and delete all the rest.

    Limiting yourself, and doing so with rigorous discipline, is the only way to go.
     
  14. Alexi

    Alexi Drench Audio

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol/Southampton
  15. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    bump.
    anyone know of any software for this that can be used in windows?