Optimising 4 deck scratch layouts in traktor

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by hazdaman100, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    Easy all,
    Just been playing round with traktor layout settings, and wondering if anyone can share with me the best layouts to use to get full functionality of traktor's 4 deck mode.

    Ideally I would like a bigger browser, a smaller heading, and the ability to switch to advance mode on the deck controls to find que points without shrinking the browser too much when expanded.
    There may be better layouts in the newer version, I am currently on 2.1.1 still.
    Anyone got any recommendations?
    The setup that I currently have is here:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
  2. Vacaro

    Vacaro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Looking at it, I'd say thats about the best youre gonna get without making the decks smaller for a bigger browser.
     
  3. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    Fair play. Is there not a way to shrink the wasted space ie the title bar...?
    Have looked online but couldn't identify anywhere.
    Possibly get a controller so I don't have to worry about expanding the views to get to the cue function...
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
  4. Vacaro

    Vacaro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nah, unfortunately the title bar space is just that, wasted space. A controller for cues would help a bit more as well.
     
  5. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    yeah thats what im guessing so I dont have to open the advance controls on each deck.
     
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    The button in the top right had corner next to the NI logo will give you a bit more space in the browser.

    Also when I saw Cyantific last year, he had a shortcut setup so you can go from mini to full mode on the decks, therefore allowing the cues to be visible when loading a track, then go to mini when the track is ready.

    HTH
     
  7. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,259
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    And, you can make the text in the browser smaller making it less crammed. All in the Preferences
     
  8. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk
    ^^yeah thanks for the tip russla, small text gets a bit crammed, but yeah, its viable, likewise using full screen mode. you literally cant view any of your tracks if you use four decks on advance view on a 13" screen.
    SHould have gone for a 15" lol
     
  9. IFTN

    IFTN Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Berlin
    what's wrong with just mapping a key to toggle between

    [​IMG]

    and

    [​IMG]

    for when u want to browse?
     
  10. DJ NUERA

    DJ NUERA 5HEAD

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    CRANIUM
    This all day, I think default is space bar?
     
  11. IFTN

    IFTN Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Berlin
    yep was for me. otherwise you can set it in controller manager >> add in >> layout >> only browser on
     
  12. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    yup, I do this. I have 4 layouts stored on my number keys so depending on how many decks im mixing, whether I need advanced controls, etc, etc. I can quickly toggle through all of them to find the one I need.