On the hunt for a good EQ vst

Discussion in 'Production' started by cohma101, May 13, 2012.

  1. cohma101

    cohma101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    Ive been using ozone 5 for all of my EQing. . . .But it just gobbles cpu. The one in ableton is ok, but I want something with a freq analyzer. . .Any advice?
     
  2. Salvus

    Salvus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use fabfilter pro q
    In my opinion its fantastic. I love it. Deffo worth a pop!
     
  3. The Riot Act!

    The Riot Act! New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, Pro-Q is awesome!
     
  4. cohma101

    cohma101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    Thanks, I'll check it out.
     
  5. equilibrium

    equilibrium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Seattle
    +1 for fabfilter. waves looks great too.

    EDIT: "I'm also a fan of the Fabfilter PRO-Q EQ : I cant live without a spectrum analyser within my EQ anymore to show me the problem frequencies that need fixing, and Pro EQ sound so smooth and rich to boot." - Blame (http://www.timespace.com/features/1779/)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2012
  6. Altodnb.

    Altodnb. AltoDnB

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yea Pro-q is awesome, i really like all the fabfilter stuff, except their instruments
     
  7. Mr Fletch

    Mr Fletch aka KRONIX

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Why don't you just create a rack in Ableton with an EQ 8, and the spectrum? Hey presto, spectral analyser and EQ in one handy rack ready to use?
     
  8. cohma101

    cohma101 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    MA
    I have Pro Q now. . . .Its beautiful!!!!!!!!!. Ive been using the EQ 8 in live for a while now. . . . .It sucks, to say the least (even in "high quality" setting). Thats just my opinion though. It may work for you.
     
  9. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Fablter's pro-q is deffo the all round best out there at the moment, I also like the parametric eq2 by image-line.
     
  10. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Fabfilter is nice because you can have the spectrum enabled overtop of your EQ area
    And you can do the spectrum pre and post EQ