New to producing and IP.

Discussion in 'Production' started by DanDnB, Jul 31, 2009.

1. DanDnB

DanDnB Bass and Drums

Hey guys,

Let's say you got a finished tune, or perhaps even an unfinished tune. You wanna let people hear it because you want some input.

How do you go about making it your official tune?

IP is intellectual property, and im just concerned that about someone taking my tune and claiming it for himself.

Sorry if this is a complete newb questions, I am new to producing. By the way I want you guys to hear my tune which is why i asked.

Thanks!

2. motion audio

motion audio Active Member

Burn a copy to CD, plonk it in jiffy bag with any details about the tune (like musical notation, lyrics etc) then send it by recorded delivery to yourself, getting the people at the post office to stamp and sign over the seal on the bag/envelope (sign it yourself aswel). When it comes in the post, leave it sealed and keep it in a secure place.

It wont stop people from pinching your tunes, but it will provide proof that it is yours, as the post office stamp will state the date you sealed and sent it.

Never send out full quality and or full length files of your tune, the majority of people will just be interested in helping you out or having a listen, but theres always someone about who'll try it on!

3. MARKLAR

MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

just upload a clip onto myspace or sumfin.

4. kama

kama benkama.net

I've never heard that mailing it to yourself thing has helped anyone, it seems like a presistent urban legend. Tho I've also never heard that it has hindered anyone.

Still, the safest way of preventing someone claiming your tune as their own is not to share it. in effect this translates to only presenting a streamable access to it. It is easy enough to record a stream, but mostly they are such low quality that I wouldn't worry about it.