DnB New To DNB Forum

DRWoof

Hey guys new to DNB forum, just wanted to introduce myself. Wondering how many of you use Reason to produce? Looking to advance my skillset in production. I'm fairly new to the game and eager to learn. If anyone has any tips for Reason or DNB production in general, I'm always looking for new approaches and techniques to add to my workflow. Cheers.

I assume you have the latest version, 7? Though, I guess the following advice is good for 6 as well:

Learn the mixing "console"—it has great EQ and compression tools. While I do agree you should shop around the Rack Extensions for EQs and Compressors, the "built-in" ones do the job 3/4ths of the time, in my experience.

Learn the combinator, and (at least the basics) of CV routing; these are some of the most powerful features of Reason.

Demo EVERY RE that has 5 stars, and don't be afraid of the 4 star ones, either. I'm not saying to buy them all (that's a personal call involving your taste, production style, and budget), but since it's free to use them for 30 days, DO IT. HOWEVER, only demo one or two at a time—demo too many at once and you'll likely end up neglecting one or two and then BOOM! time's up!

I really love Predator for DnB; it comes with two folders of presets just for DnB. Lots of people like Antidote as well (I keep meaning to get that, but something else always comes up).

Thanks for the reply! I am working on 7 as of a couple weeks ago, really digging it so far. I've done a bit of work with CV and combinators so far but nothing exstensive. Any tips for beginning to experiment with CV and Modulation Routing? Obviously to achieve mods from LFO to certain params etc. but are there any specific techniques that CV and mod matrixes can be used for?

- - - Updated - - -